• 50°

Graduation-Awards and scholarships given to North Rowan High seniors

North Rowan High School Awards:

U.S. Army Scholar Athlete Award — Will Robertson, Desiree Rincon.

U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award — Will Robertson.

U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award — Oshon West, Taylor Sells.

U.S. Marine Corps Semper Fidelis Award — Savanna Starnes.

Rowan Veterans Council U.S. History Award – Desiree Rincon.

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Grant – Timothy Bates, Brandon Johnson, Denzel Price, Fayeleese Shropshire.

AkzoNobel Science Scholarship – Rayford Harrison.

Horatio Alger North Carolina Scholarship – Rhett Hellard.

American Red Cross Red Cord Program – Timothy Bickish, Kenaedre’ayll Coney, Daneea Gladden, Mollie Leazer, Cody McDowell, Dquan Miller, Valerie Miller, Desiree Rincon, Brooke Settle, Jalea Shaw, Meredith Shuping, Tayana Steele, Shontel Wilson.

Bryan Bailey Memorial Scholarship – Dakota Honeycutt.

John C. Campbell Jr. RRMC Foundation Scholarship – Daneea Gladden

Daughters of the American Revolution Good Citizen Award – Taylor Love.

North Carolina DECA T. Carl Brown Scholarship – Catherine Crawford.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Scholarship – Miesha Glenn, Demiah Hawkins, Denzel Price, Fayeleesa Shropshire, Shontel Wilson.

Jessie Young Earnhart Class of 1917 Spencer High Scholarship — Brandon Johnson.

F&M Bank Merit Scholarship – Brice Branch.

Alex Gordon Memorial Scholarship/United Methodist Men of Spencer — Catherine Crawford.

Matthew C. Graziadei Achievement Recognition — Levi Sherrill.

Hairston Funeral Home Scholarship – Denzel Price.

Ralph W. Ketner & William L. Comer Family CTE Scholarship — Shontel Wilson .

Key Club Core Values Scholarship – Daisy Lemke.

Kiddie Land Kindergarten Memorial Scholarship – T.J. Bates.

Robert L. Mauldin Memorial Scholarship – Will Robertson, Daisy Lemke.

J. Michael McDuffie Memorial Scholarship — Levi Sherrill.

NAACP Scholarship – Demiah Hawkins, Denzel Price, Valerie Miller, Miesha Glenn.

North Carolina State Employees Credit Union Scholarship – Will Robertson.

NRHS Alumni Association Scholarship – Catherine Crawford & Daisy Lemke.

NRHS Connections Hope Scholarship — Amber Carter, Demiah Hawkins, Brandon Johnson, Denzel Price, Jenifer Vargas.

Principals’/Assistant Principals’ Scholarship – Will Robertson.

RCCC — Dai Napon, Chris Harper.

RCCC High School Achievement Award – Chris Harper.

Rowan—Salisbury Association of Educators – Jenifer Vargas.

Rowan—Salisbury Schools Outstanding CTE Student of the Year — Fayleesa Shropshire.

Salisbury Post All-County Scholars – Alex Gilland, Will Robertson.

Salisbury Rotary Club RCCC Scholarship Trust Fund – Brice Branch.

Salisbury Rowan Home Builders Association Scholarship – Will Robertson.

SAT/ACT Academic Wall of Fame Scholarship — Alex Gilland, Joseph Hellard, Camden Ramsey, Levi Sherrill, Ethan McCraw, Taylor Love.

SAT Most Improved Scholarship — William Robertson.

James J. Smith Culinary Arts Scholarship – Shontel Wilson.

Patrick David Snider Memorial Scholarship – Denzel Price, Daisy Lemke.

Spencer Civitan Community Service Scholarship – Daisy Lemke.

Catawba College — Rayford Harrison, Trustee Scholarship; Taylor Sells, Womens Softball and Trustee Scholarship.

Mars Hill College — Rhett Hellard, Mars Hill College Scholarship.

University of North Carolina at Charlotte — Britney Callahan, Theatre Scholarship.

Wingate University — Brandon Johnson, Presidential Scholarship (Pre-Pharmacy Advantage Program).

U.S. Army — Tevon Frost, Deshaun Provoid, Hunter Walker.

U.S. Marine Corps — Timothy Bickish, Desiree Rincon.

Valedictorian — William Gilland.

Salutatorian – William Robertson.

Honor graduates — Guadalupe Almazan, Timothy L. Bates II, Kiara S. Bellamy, Julia L. Blankenship, Kevin W. Burnham, Britney N. Callahan, Montero D. Carter, Catherine F. Crawford, Shelby M. Davis, Tonia M. Dimarzo, Danielle N. Eagle, Erika E. Easley, William A. Gilland, Miesha L. Glenn, Rayford N. Harrison, Demiah R. Hawkins, Dakota B. Honeycutt, Wesley S. Honeycutt, Brandon A. Johnson, Molliyah A. Leazer, Lauren D. Lemke, Julie F. Lemus, Scott W. Loflin, Taylor M. Love, Jessica L. Maher, Warren A. Massey, Ethan A. McCraw, Margarito R. Mendoza, Valerie R. Miller, Nicholas W. Overcash, Denzel J. Price, Camden P. Ramsey, Desiree D. Rincon, William N. Robertson, Taylor D. Sells, Levi J. Sherrill, Fayeleese R. Shropshire, Meredith N. Shuping, Vendela D. Sisomphou, Savanna N. Starnes, Ricky Vang, Kingson Wang, Kimasia D. Wilson, Shontel A. Wilson, Kaontxeng Yang.

North Carolina Scholars — Julia L. Blankenship, Britney N. Callahan, Montero D. Carter, Catherine F. Crawford, Tonia M. Dimarzo, Danielle N. Eagle, William A. Gilland, Miesha L. Glenn, Rayford N. Harrison, Dakota B. Honeycutt, Brandon A. Johnson, Lauren D. Lemke, Julie F. Lemus, Taylor M. Love, Jessica L. Maher, Nicholas W. Overcash, Denzel J. Price, Desiree D. Rincon, William N. Robertson, Fayeleese R. Shropshire, Savanna N. Starnes, Ricky Vang, Kimasia D. Wilson, Kaontxeng Yang.

North Carolina Tar Heel Girls State & Boys State (rising seniors) – Ciarra Sifford, Simon Connolly.

Junior Marshals — Alex J. Billingsley, chief marshal; Jacquelyn M. Batten, Dylan G. Benfield, Simon A. Connolly, Lindsey K. Hinson, Summer N. Hall, Tyler A. Mulkey, Morgan N. Overcash, Veronica Sanchez, Jayland J. Sanders, Cierra N. Sifford, Brendan K. Smith, Kelsey A. Walker.


Comments closed.


Salisbury, Kannapolis men charged with soliciting sexual acts


Racial bias ‘deeply entrenched’ in report critical of Apex Police Department


US bombs facilities in Syria used by Iran-backed militia


City council again dismisses idea of adding new member, focus now on recommendation to delay elections


‘Let’s make some money:’ Loosened restrictions praised by bar owners, baseball team

High School

Salisbury High bucks historical trend in dominant shutout of West Rowan


Garage declared total loss after Enochville fire


Cooper, N.C. prison officials agree to release 3,500 inmates


Two more COVID-19 deaths reported in Rowan, six for the week


Blotter: Man brandishes AR-15, runs over motorcycle at Rockwell-area gas station


Salisbury man charged with exploitation of minor


Road rage incident results in assault charges


Dukeville lead testing results trickle in, more participation needed


Faith Academy interviewing staff, preparing site for fall opening


Volunteers work around obstacles, alter procedures to offer free tax services to those in need


Education shoutouts


Retired Marine gets recognition for toy collection efforts


March issue of Salisbury the Magazine is now available


Five get Dunbar School Heritage Scholarships


Education briefs: Salisbury Academy fourth-graders think big as inventors


Bakari Sellers keynote speaker at Livingstone College Founder’s Day program


Biden aims to distribute masks to millions in ‘equity’ push


Chief: Capitol Police were warned of violence before riot


GOP rallies solidly against Democrats’ virus relief package