Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 30, 2013

Andrew Mullis, a senior at South Rowan High School, recently won the statewide Skills USA competition in masonry.
Career and technical students participate in the SkillsUSA Championships in a number of different fields. Contests begin locally and continue through the state and national levels.
Mullis said 63 masonry students from all over North Carolina competed at the statewide round. He now will represent North Carolina in the national competition, which will be held June 24-28 in Kansas City, Mo.
According to the Skills USA website, masonry competitors must build a composite brick and block project in a six-hour period. It includes components of the most frequently used details in residential construction. The students are judged on their ability to meet industry standards and quality, as well as a written exam.
Mullis’ masonry teacher, Ronnie Miller, said this is the first time in 16 years that he has taught a state winner. He said it’s been much longer than that since South Rowan High School has seen a Skills USA masonry champion.
A Cannon School rising senior is among 610 high school students attending North Carolina Governor’s School this summer. Aidan Smith of Mooresville is studying English during the five-week session, which is being held through July 20 on the campus of Meredith College in Raleigh.
Governor’s School of North Carolina is the oldest statewide summer residential program for academically and intellectually gifted high school students in the nation. The curriculum focuses on the exploration of the most recent ideas and concepts in 10 different areas: art, choral music, dance, English, foreign language (French and Spanish), instrumental music, math, natural science, social science and theater.
Landis Elementary School Citizens of the Month for May:
Kindergarten — Joseph Pousada, Drake Furr, Elizabeth Wing, Janie Gonzalez Rios and Traydun Freeze.
First grade — Yohana DeLeon Fraire, Sebastian Tenorio-Passmore, Erica Smith and Kayla Brown.
Second grade — Enoch Kamili, Obed Sosa, Savannah Wallace and Samantha Morgan.
Third grade — Kanayda Allison, Romeo Sosa, Porter Watson and Faith Lipke.
Fourth grade — Chloe Beck, Lily Duncan, Paige Chabala, Raechel Payne and Zoey Nichols.
Fifth grade — Jackson LaTurno, Dalilah Kamili, Kahlil Sims and Jasmine Holland.
PEMBROKE — University of North Carolina at Pembroke announced chancellor’s and honor’s lists for the spring semester 2013.
Chancellor’s honors

Students are eligible for the chancellor’s list if they achieve a minimum semester quality point average of 3.7 while passing at least 12 semester hours of course work; none of the 12 hours may be pass/fail.
Kannapolis — Devon Alexandra Mauldin.
Mocksville — Lauren A. Mock.

Mooresville — Christian B. Conboy, Edward Francis Wickline.
Rockwell — Benjamin Charles DeCelle,
Students are eligible for the honors list if they achieve a minimumsemester quality point average of 3.2 while passing at least 12 semester hours of course work; none of the 12 hours may be pass/fail.
Mocksville — Laura A. Spillman.
Mooresville — Jordan Lamar Champion; Megan Danielle Hillard.
Salisbury — Heather Ciscel, Samantha Amanda Moffa; Tamara Nicole Oglesby.
Gardner-Webb University is pleased to announce that the following students made the dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester. The dean’s list is the semester’s highest academic honor, recognizing only those students who maintain a grade point average (GPA) of 3.7 or better. The students are listed by name, hometown and major:
Kannapolis — Jessica Pigg, Hannah Rash.
Mooresville — Nina Corder, Chelsea Hall, Kelly Wilhite.
Woodleaf — Jordan Morris.

Gardner-Webb students from the area made the honor roll during the spring 2013 semester. The honor roll recognizes students who achieve a grade point average between 3.2 and 3.7 for the semester.
Mooresville — Caitlin Nicole Anderson, Muhiya Samuel Kalumbu, Deanna Leigh Loudermilk, Talea Shari Sturdivant.
Salisbury — Spencer Langley Bevis, Scott Andrew Van der Poel.
Paige Podgorak-Lagro of Salisbury was awarded a bachelor of arts degree during Creighton University’s commencement ceremony on May 18 at the CenturyLink Center, Omaha.
John E. Kyger Jr. earned a Bachelor of Arts degree when Furman University awarded 590 undergraduate and master’s degrees during graduation exercises May 4.