Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, April 11, 2013

National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced the names of approximately 800 outstanding black American high school seniors who have won Achievement Scholarship awards through the National Achievement Scholarship Program. The National Achievement Scholarship Program is a privately financed academic competition established in 1964 specifically to honor scholastically talented black American youth and to provide scholarships to a substantial number of the most outstanding participants in each annual competition.

The Achievement Scholar designees announced include 700 recipients of National Achievement $2,500 scholarships. All students who advanced to the finalist level in the 2013 competition were considered for these single-payment scholarships, which were awarded on a regional representation basis in proportion to the population of Black Americans in each geographic region.

Two Rowan County students, Ebonee Collins of A.L. Brown High School in Kannapolis and Dana Salmon of North Hills Christian School, received the National Achievement scholarship.

Collins’ probable career field is computer engineering, and Salmon plans to study speech/language pathology.

The following North Hills Christian School students were recognized during third quarter for displaying the fruits of the spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.

First grade: Isabella Banish, Collin Cape, Gentry Horton, Carlee Latva, Isabel Melton, Selah Smith, Jonathan Spillane.

Second grade: Jackson Everhart.

Fourth grade: Maddie Mitchell, Jude Smeltzer, Samantha Spillane.

Fifth grade: Alexis Mangus, Aaron Mills, Devon Mitchell, Kady Staton.

The following students were selected as good citizens at North Rowan Elementary for March based on the character trait integrity: Jackie Ferguson, Addison Trout, Eris Riley, Connor Koontz, Elliott Smith, Julius Drewery, Cadence Shepherd, Selene Albarran-Gutierrez, Tyseana Hughes, Sincere Martin, Kaylin Hill, Marbeli Bustillo-Castro, Yasmin Carillo, Jeremiah McCullum, Madisyn Smith, Xander Malone, Lily Savage, BreAsia Ellia, Charisma Brown, Roger Sanchez, Logan Dellinger, Dusty Ann Bruce, KeAndre Cathy, Dasia Elder, Theodore Luther, Allannah Johnson, Erick Mundo-Flores, Enisha Lyerly, Brooklyn Moss, Noah Williams, Kayla Teague, Sebastian Jabana, Bryanna Moss, Kolby Smith, Madisyn Smith, Ashly Ortiz, Nizhariah Winchester, Ryan Overcash, Jakye Cross, MacKenna Clifton, Cedryn Bost, Isaiah Allen, Ann Espinal-Baquis, Eris Riley, Nayomi Pant, Delijah Carpenter, Dyzarious Carpenter, Matthew Mason, Corey Eliis, Passion Cuthrell, Ally Silvia, Jasmin Lara, Savannah Loftis, Tierra Woods, Janiya Pemberton, Chandler Castillo, Julianna Patterson, Tiana Turner, Ricardo Ruiz, Charlie Durham, Angelo Cervantes, Ahmad Morris, Dania Mendoza.

The following Hanford-Dole Elementary School students were recognized as Good Citizens for the character trait for self-discipline.

Pre-kindergarten — Kimberly Corrales.

Kindergarten — Estefany Nunez, Saqueena Simpson, Aamaiya Ijames, Kaylie Palmer.

First grade — Tyler Kinney, Jaleska Diaz, Dana Quintero, Nathalie Hendren.

Second grade — Bryan Montoya, Jaylah Bethea, Myah Sifford, Isaac Morales.

Third grade — Josh Feaster, Christopher Napoles, David Lopez, Dee Dee Gray.

Fourth grade — Jacob Schwendinger, N’Haisa Barbour, Emanuel Harrell, Mahogony Mashore.

Fifth grade — Charlie Klinger, Ava Stapf, Jose Quintero, Courtney Archer.

March Good Citizens for Cleveland Elementary School:

Kindergarten — CeAiree Watkins, Scarlett Kennedy, Savannah Meadows, Jayden Mills, Elijah McGinnis, Anthony Hagan.

First grade — Zana Smyre-Rouse, Sawyer Henderson, Faun Stamison, Greg Leo, Noah Cook, Amie Rogers.

Second grade — Jonique Staton, Brooklynn Lawson, Easton Troutman, Madelyn VonCannon, Jafet Tavira, Adanysa Santiago.

Third grade — Brianna Hennessy, Jasmine Hinojos, Gabby Nicolosi, Samantha Phelps.

Fourth grade — Grayson Phillips, Parker Safley, Allyson Rumple, Beau Butterfield, Keniya Miller, Sarah Peters.

Fifth grade — Zoe Hager, Aniyah Dalton, Lane Adkins, Nicholi Warren.

Below is a list of the April Star Students for Granite Quarry Elementary School.

Pre-kindergarten — Mathew Avalos.

Kindergarten — Anders Thompson, Ean Timberman, Daisy Berry, Michael Flynn.

First grade — Adam Leffew, Tijon Everhart, Braeden Allum, Corey Leach.

Second grade — Teagan Johnson, Andrew Turner, Gannon Kepley, Lee Jarvis.

Third grade — Laila Brown, Hillary Newman, Bobby Brindle, Ralond Frost.

Fourth grade — Julie Stubbs, Brennen Wise, Caleb Wagoner, Kamari Bruce-Granford.

Fifth grade — Alexis Smith, Olivia Kesler, Katie Donovan, Isatu Sowe.

Salisbury Academy announces its all-A honor roll for third quarter:

Fifth grade — Roshen Amin, Dominic Capito, Archie Dees, Caitlin Hattaway, Mitch Jeter and Marshall Overcash.

Sixth grade — Annabel Barr, Sarah Clifton, Zach Johnson and Ellen Simons.

Seventh grade — Maria Capito, Anna Louise Lewis, Ivy Overcash and Isabel Temple.

Eighth grade — Isabella Alvarez, Sharmi Amin, Juliana Anderson, Andreas Kalogeromitros, Jenny Kribbs, Samantha Pritchard and Katie White.

Two Catawba College students were awarded first place Derieux Research Awards in their respective divisions for excellence in undergraduate research at the 110th Annual Meeting of the North Carolina Academy of Science (NCAS). Marlon Ryan Barber of Mocksville and Mary Podgorak-Lagro of Salisbury were recognized at the annual meeting held April 5 and 6 at University of North Carolina at Pembroke.

The titles of the students’ research and the professors who assisted these students are as follows:

• Barber, Marlon R. and Dr. Constance Rogers-Lowery. Effects of ocean acidification on growth of a marine hydroid.

• Podgorak-Lagro, Mary and Dr. Jay Bolin. An evaluation of hybrid intermediacy in the germination ecology of Ashe’s Sumac, Rhus asheii (Rhus michauxii X Rhus glabra).

Rogers-Lowery is an assistant professor of biology and chair of that department at Catawba, while Bolin is an associate professor of biology at the college.