Catawba students will take part in events

Published 12:00 am Friday, January 11, 2013

SALISBURY — Catawba College students will participate in several inauguration events for North Carolina’s new governor, 1978 Catawba alumnus Pat McCrory.
Catawba’s Vernaculars All Stars will perform between 7:30 and 8 p.m. tonight at the inaugural ball. Dr. David Fish, director of Popular Music and Music Business programs at Catawba, will accompany the students.
Members of the Catawba Pride, the college’s marching band, will join other participants from around the state during the inaugural parade at 12:30 p.m. Saturday in downtown Raleigh.
The parade, which follows the inaugural ceremony and inaugural address, begins at the intersection of Fayetteville and Davie streets, travels north on Fayetteville Street until turning right onto Hargett Street, then traveling north on Wilmington Street. The parade route ends at the intersection of Wilmington and East Lane streets.
Attendance and parking for the inaugural ceremony and parade are free and open to the public.
Jay Meachum, Dr. Steve Etters, Kim Etters and Peter Zlotnick direct the Catawba Pride. Students from Rowan County who will participate are Jordan Warren of Salisbury, Liz Overman of Salisbury, Ashton Alexander of Granite Quarry, Chase Etters of Salisbury. Patrick Karriker of China Grove, Daniel Mowery of Salisbury, Taylor Lee of Kannapolis, Kristin Swilley of Salisbury, Maddie Wyatt of Kannapolis and Devan Purvis of Spencer.
McCrory has been a member of Catawba’s Board of Trustees since 2005.