Education shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, December 27, 2012

Erwin student collects food instead of receiving gifts
Carlton Jackson IV, an eighth-grader at Erwin Middle School, has collected about 213 pounds of food and $100 for Rowan Helping Ministries. Instead of receiving gifts, Jackson asked family, friends and church members to donate food for the shelter.

National Junior Honor Society inductions
GRANITE QUARRY — The following members were inducted into the East Rowan High School Chapter of the National Honor Society:
Rebecca Agner, Timothy Ludwick, Hailey Bartleson, Charles Maness, Alisha Beam, Sarah Mitchell, Katelyn Buffett, Madison Moore, William Burroughs, Corbyn Morris, Zachary Burroughs, Kayla Myers, Emily Cleveland, Jacob Overcash, Hannah Dixon, Jordan Owen, Natalie Earls, Victor Pereira, Robert Egloff, Drew Pethel, Matthew Fleming, Evan Rogers, Emily Hammer, Joshua Rowell, Jillian Harrell, Kayla Swaringen, Renae Johnson, Lauren Thomas, Rebecca Linker, Elizabeth Weaver, Madison Long , Shelby White, Shelby Lookabill, Karleigh Wike
National Honor Society officers conducted the ceremony, which was held in the school auditorium and followed by a reception given by the senior members. Inductees with 3.6 or higher GPA were chosen on the qualities of leadership, service and character.

SALISBURY — The following North Hills Christian School juniors and seniors were inducted into the David B. Davis chapter of the National Honor Society:  Emily Boggs, Kathleen Bourque, Morgan Bowman,  Elisabeth Farmer, Caitlin Harrison,  Candace Craig Lyerly, Kevin Mitchell, Julia Murphy, Jared Smith, and Natalie Whicker. These inductees join current members of the society:   Abbey Cody, Taylor Foster, Paige Gregoire, Michael Jones , Abby Lane, Madison Link, Mary Scott Norris,  Jo Park, Sarah Parks , Katherine Paul, Dana Salmon, and Matthew Ward.
National Honor Society members are selected by faculty members and administration based on the students’ demonstration of excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service and character.  
In addition, students must have attended North Hills Christian School for one year prior to their junior or senior year and hold a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. 

Shady Brook recognized as leader for educational change at conference
KANNAPOLIS — Shady Brook Elementary School in was recognized recently as a national leader for educational change at a conference in Union County.
The conference was sponsored by the Southwest Educational Alliance and featured nationally recognized educators Richard and Rebecca DuFour.
The DuFours led a two-day workshop on the importance of having a professional learning community in the school setting.
They helped participants learn how a collaborative culture and systematic strategies for leadership can improve children’s learning.
The DuFours praised Shady Brook Elementary for being a leader in educational change. They noted that Shady Brook is the only Professional Learning Community nationally recognized elementary school in North Carolina. Shady Brook is listed on the DuFour’s website, All Things PLC at

Shady Brook teaches students about giving
KANNAPOLIS — Shady Brook Elementary School is using partnerships to help teach students about the spirit of giving.
Shady Brook has a partnership with Opportunity House, which assists Shady Brook with the volunteer program and many other areas of outreach.
Shady Brook staff and Opportunity House members collect items to place in the Giving Tree Store. 
 Students earn Giving Tree money for positive behavior and get to shop for gifts and wrap them for their families. 
Students in  Michael Cole’s first grade class said, “It’s about giving and it makes you feel good to give”. 
This is the second year Shady Brook and Opportunity House have partnered to sponsor the Giving Tree.

December Good Citizens

Kindergarten — Janiyah Chawlk, Emma Shell, Eliseo Ramirez Martinez, Estephany Polanco Guardado, Jyquavion Williams.
First grade — Adam Mercado Molina, Mya Noble, Kimberly Trujillo Alberto, Marissa Doby, Adamary Segura-Aguirre.
Second grade — Ashlee Ennis, Tanner Poole, Sarah Durham, Summer Walker, Keshyne Bognuda.
Third grade — Gerardo Pacheco-Mendoza, Madison McDaniel, Caleb Whitesell, Noah Loeblein, Alisha Bard.
Fourth grade — Jackson Murphy, Madelynn Fisher, Christa Lomax, Jacquelin Perez Espinoza, Alissa Hamann.
Fifth grade — Jasiyah Wilson, Georgia Chapin, Kobe Partlow, Olivia Conner.

The following students were recently selected as Great Gators for displaying compassion:
Pre-kindergarten — Zionah Ross.
Kindergarten — Rayshawn Burke, Timothy Davis, Landen Dudas, Jordan Henderson, Ashley Mancia, Andy Ortiz, Duvis Plomer and Justice Willis.
First grade — Zoe Eagle, Luke Ellis, Zary’ll Fair, Kailena Fruchtman, Christopher Le, Rosemary Li and Quincy Robinson.
Second grade — Daniel Escobar, Madison Evans, Yasmine Greene, Helen Moscoso-Sarceno, Avant Pressley, Khalil Rankin and Sydney Speigner.
Third grade — Jalan Alexander, Breyanna Cagle, Eszavion Franklin, Daxary Herrera, Briseyda Pacheco and Carolina Sanchez.
Fourth grade — Marcelis Davis, Sincere Houston, Sacred Nelson, Dylan Perez, Tamya Ross, Jamir Tucker, Kelley Walton and Connie Young.
Fifth grade — Kameon Alford, David Martinez, Destiny McCullough, Sara Norman, Elijah Robbins and Spencer Smithman.

Kindergarten — Jeffrey Salyers, Melinda Tenorio-Passmore, Elian Gonzalez and Nasire Bostic.
First grade — Kadance Bebber, Reagan Glover, Miranda Watson, Ella Carden and Rebecca Hood.
Second grade — Austin Efird, James Hewitt, Asia Locke and Kamryn Ketchie.
Third grade — Imani Oglesby-Wiggins, Faith Salyers, Kaylie Hucks, Hannah Canupp and Lorianna Butler.
Fourth grade — Samantha Brown, Jonathan Upright, Paige Chabala, Zahima Smith, Aerial Hanno, Brendan Young and Dylan Gulledge.
Fifth grade — Zachary Deal, Auston Wilhelm, Ikeijah Fernandez, Dylan Foster and Yesenia Gomez.

Sacred Heart honor roll
The following students made all A’s during the first trimester:
Fourth grade — Jared Burton, Josh Klein, Katy Klein, Kayla Young
Fifth grade — Claire Allen, Brody Dillon, Korey Glover. Hannah Smith
Sixth grade — Jason Matthews
Seventh grade — Alex Antosek, Elly Burks, Michael Childress, Keegan Dillon, Kyle Glover, Rachel Harrison, Julia Honeycutt, Zach Huddleston, Johnson Huynh, Grace Kellicut, Emily Maxey, Mary McCullough, Ben Roy, Miriam Roy
Eighth grade — William Clark, Mathias deComarmond