Yesterday: Spencer School football

Published 12:00 am Monday, June 25, 2012

Here are some real leatherheads, the 1927 football squad from Spencer School. The photograph belongs to Emil Sparger of Spencer. The names come from the back of the photograph. They include, in the first row, Radio Hughes, Guy Miller, Cotton Grossman, Pete Parker and Biddie Holt; second row: Hirdle Self, Fred Holt, Ernest McCarn, Jack Miller, Walt Sebastian, Red Holt, Gil Robinson and Jed Smith; third row: Glen Mock, Wilbur Dorsett, Red Wagner, Carl Spencer, Perry Hughes, Wilbur Julian, Bill Webb, Bob Mauldin, Connie Bickett, Ty Lanning and Coach Frank Shealey.