Catawba convocation honors those living up to potential

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Catawba College President Brien Lewis met and learned about the achievements of the college’s best and brightest students at the annual Awards Convocation held April 19.
Lewis explained that the convocation allowed the campus community “to honor and celebrate people who are already demonstrating just how high their potential can be.”
Most of the awards distributed were eco-friendly, made of Catawba blue, 100 percent recycled glass.
SGA officers
Outgoing SGA president Yakir Malul of Rishon Le-Zion, Israel, received a gavel traditionally awarded to the retiring president of the Student Government Association (SGA). Malul was president during the 2011-12 academic year.
SGA officers installed for the 2012-13 academic year include: President Jana Burkhardt, Willoughby, Ohio; Vice President Christian A. Crifasi, Ramseur; Secretary Justin M. Smith, Greensboro; and Treasurer Leah Constan-Tatos, Johannesburg, South Africa.
Service to community and leadership awards
Garrett McAuliffe, Kernersville, andBrandi Cockerhamof Mocksville: David Hoyle Award;
Stephanie Cook, Alpharetta, Ga.: Pioneer Award;
Whitney Mullis, Kannapolis, and Mackenzie Westbrook, Charlotte: Frances Decker Wentz Award;
Rayshaun Sandlin, Knightdale, and Brandi Cockerham, Mocksville: the new Mr. and Ms. Catawba;
Dr. Janice M. Fuller: Kenneth Clapp Tri-Delta Award;
Student Sarah Robinson, Cartersville, Va., and faculty member Dr. Mike Baranski: Leader in Environmental Stewardship Award;
Kelly M. Schumacher, Easton, Md.: Paul Fisher Service Award and Scholarship;
Who’s Who among Students in American Universities andColleges inductees: Amanda L. Drake, Salisbury; Sarah A. Moore, Mocksville; Ana K. Cooke, Fairfax, Va.; W. Brett Underwood, Greensboro; Claire E. Robinson, Houston, Texas; Jennifer M. Goble, Salisbury; Jubilee A. Meehan, Kannapolis; Joshua A. Payne, Candler; Sarah C. Robinson, Cartersville, Va. ; Julie R. Gilley, Dobson; Marissa E. DiMarco, Voorhees, N.J.; Joshua L. Owens, Mt. Pleasant; Sarah Y. Morse, Berwick, Maine; Stephanie W. Cook, Alpharetta, Ga.; Whitney P. Mullis, Kannapolis; Kyle D. Hendrick, Palatka, Fla.; and Robin E. Tynes, Black Mountain.
Academicachievement award recipients
Travis S. Cauble, Salisbury: Sherrill & Smith Award in Business Administration;
Sarah Matulis, Berlin, Conn., and Joshua Owens, Mt. Pleasant: Millard F. Wilson Award for Excellence in Business;
Elizabeth G. “Lizzle” Davis, East Bend: Dr. Charles Turney Award and Martha H. Morehead Award.
Jubilee Meehan, Kannapolis: Rebecca H. Frantz Essay Prize.
Jessica Everett, Winston-Salem, and Elizabeth G. “Lizzle” Davis, East Bend: Bethany and Aidan Sinnott Poetry Award;
Jacqueline Hodgson, Pittsfield, Mass.: Rice, Andrews, Young Award;
Julie Gilley, Dobson: Elisabeth Scranton History Award
Frank Villa, Kannapolis, and Jacob Regensburge, Fayetteville: Braun Award in Physics;
Blake Rushing, Indian Trail: Chemistry Prize;
Luke Kooyman, Salt Lake City, Utah, and Lucas W. Riebe of Wellington, Fla.: CRC Press Freshman Chemistry Achievement Award;
Rachel Cone, Lexington: American Institute of Chemists Award;
Spencer K. Ashley, Yadkinville: Mathematics Award;
Sarah C. Robinson, Cartersville, Va.: Environmental Programs Award;
Margaret Steele, Mocksville, and Melanie Hudson, Greensboro: Shirley L. Haworth Prospective Teacher Award;
Brittany Myers, Shelby: Student Education Association/ Cynthia Osterhus Award;
Melanie Hudson, Greensboro: The College Chairman’s Award in Music
Katie Zink, Salisbury: Senior Psychology Award;
Marissa DiMarco,Voorhees, N.J.: Patricia R. Whitley Award;
Amanda G. Williams, Indian Trail: Daniel E. Kirk Biology Award;
Robin Tynes, Black Mountain: The Augustin Daly Award for Outstanding Student of the Year in Theatre Arts;
Megan Kittel of Mooresville: Sociology Award;
Brett Underwood, Greensboro and Stephanie Cook, Alpharetta, Ga.: Dr. Karl E. Hales Communication Award.
Awards of Special Merit and Achievement
Jacob Hill, Salisbury, and Maggie McKee, Mount Airy: Dean Grove Award;
Kyle D. Hendrick, Palatka, Fla., and Dr. James M. Beard, professor of chemistry: The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award;
Dr. Janice Fuller, professor of English and Catawba’s writer-in-residence: Professor of the Year for 2011-2012;
Melanie McCulloh, director of financial aid: Louise Tucker Staff Council Award;
Jay Laurens, coordinator of Outreach Programs for Catawba’s Lilly Center for Vocation and Value: The President’s Award for Staff Excellence;
Dr. Sharon Sullivan, associate professor of mathematics: Swink Prize for Outstanding Classroom Teacher;
Dr. Kenneth W. Clapp, college chaplain, director of Catawba’s Lilly Center for Vocation and Values, assistant professor of religion and philosophy and senior vice president: Trustee Award for Outstanding Contribution to the College;
Claire Robinson, Houston, Texas, and Yakir Malul, Rishon Le-Zion, Israel: Whitener Medals.