Education ShoutOuts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 24, 2012

Bus driversof the month
Rowan-Salisbury Schools Director of Transportation Judy Burris has recognized the following employees for exemplary service as bus drivers for May. A bus driver must adhere to all the duties and responsibilities set forth by the Schools Transportation Department and are nominated by their bus coordinator for this honor each month.
North area: Bernice Williams, North Rowan Elementary School (Bus 301);
East area: Jessica Draper, Faith Elementary School (Bus 195);
West area: Patricia Watson, Cleveland Elementary School (Bus 148);
South area: Constance Sloan, Southeast Middle School, Knollwood Elementary School (Bus 107);
Salisbury area: Phyllis Moore, Knox Middle School, Salisbury High School (Bus 164);
Special needs: Charlette Ashby (Bus 89);
Substitute driver: Brent Moose.
Hurley good citizens
The good citizens for May at Hurley Elementary School include:
Kindergarten — Benjamin Rogers, Jaden Walker, Madison Hord, Evan Cleaton.
First grade — Colby Williams, Adrian Stockton, Jesse Barrera, Sharon Dange, Baltazar Cordona Fernandez.
Second grade — Jenna Wheeler, Jimmy Arrieta Meza, Jason Campos, Layla Galloway, Justin Camacho Hernandez.
Third grade — Aneesa Arrasmith, Gabrielle McDaniel, Talyn Udasco, Roger Finley, Savanna Carpenter.
Fourth grade — Gavin Staton, Joshua Allman, Kejuan McCain, Michael Molenda, Mia Taggart.
Fifth grade — Teresa Aguirre Ruiz, Ximena Farfan Perez, Kaitlyn Honeycutt, Mia Timms.
Knollwood honor roll
The following Knollwood Elementary School students made all As during the third quarter:
Third grade — Rayland Anderson, Cameron Kennerly, Lindsey Conrad, Ricky Musselwhite, Jacob Harris, Briana Richer.
Fourth grade — Katelin Bostian, Grissel Medina, John Sokolowski, Taylor Conrad, Jaliyah Oats, Christian Sierra, Leah Cressler, Caleb Orbison, Hunter Yates, Parker McGuire, Sierra Ratliff, Brandon Yow.
Fifth grade — Garret Alewine, Isel Quintero, Bailey Chatham, Lisa Roberts, Hope Crook, Hayden Trayah, Brody Hogan, Mandy Ward.
Limestone dean’s list
GAFFNEY, S.C. — Mocksville, N.C., native and Limestone College student Shelton Howard was named to the college’s fall 2011 dean’s list.
The list at Limestone is comprised of full-time students receiving the grade of A in all of their courses.
Fourth-graders win essay contest
KANNAPOLIS — Four area fourth-graders have won the annual Mother’s Day Essay Contest for 2012, which was sponsored by State Farm Insurance, Mary Beth Ballantine, agent.
Winners are Sara Norman, Forest Park Elementary; Sam Ramirez, Bostian Elementary; Dalton Ellis, Fred L. Wilson; and Kinley Guilbe, Fred L. Wilson.
The contest was open to all fourth-graders in the Kannapolis area schools and home school programs. The essay could be in a letter, poem, recipe, essay or song format. The essay could also be about an alternate motherly figure or positive female influence in the child’s life.
The winner received a $50 gift card and the teacher received $200 for use in her classroom. Those finishing second and third received a goody bag.
School bus safety poster contestwinners
The Rowan-Salisbury Schools Transportation Department held the annual School Bus Safety Poster Contest on May 16. Art poster entries were received from elementary and middle schools for judging. The theme and slogan of the contest is “Stand Back from the Yellow and Black.”
Judges of the local contest chose three posters from each of the four divisions: Kindergarten-second grade, third- fifth grade, sixth-eighth grade, and special education. The chosen posters will be submitted for the statewide School Bus Safety Poster Contest in Raleigh to be judged in July. Winners from the state contest will be submitted to the national contest.
The posters chosen are as follows:
Division 1, Kindergarten-second grade — Savannah Hart, grade two, China Grove Elementary School; Rose Carroll, grade two, Morgan Elementary; Hannah Small, grade two, China Grove.
Division 2, third-fifth grade — Kendra Petrea, grade five, Millbridge Elementary School; Stephanie Kidd, grade five, Morgan Elementary; Cindy Connolly, grade four, Millbridge Elementary.
Division 3, sixth-eighth grade — Thomas Webb, grade eight, West Rowan Middle School; Jaqerius Johnson, grade 8,West Rowan Middle; Victoria Amaro, grade six, Southeast Middle School.
Division 4, special education — Tylyric Smith, grade three, Isenberg Elementary School; Jose Gonzalez, grade three, Isenberg; Jamir Tucker, grade three, Isenberg.
TV anchorat Hanford Dole
John Carter of WBTV Channel 3 News in Charlotte was the guest reader at the Communities In Schools First Grade Book Club at Hanford Dole Elementary School.
Temika Turner, Communities In Schools coordinator for the school, invited Carter to read the book of the month “Giraffes Can’t Dance” by Giles Andreae to first grade students.
Carter spoke to students about the importance of reading and explained to students how reading can be fun as well as a learning experience.
The First Grade Book Club is designed to increase parent involvement at Hanford Dole and promote reading in the home.
Each child received a copy of the book presented, and activities that they can do with a parent when they read the book together at home.
A grant through Target makes it possible to have the book clubs.