Old Time Fiddlers Convention winners announced

Published 12:00 am Friday, April 13, 2012

UNION GROVE — Several thousand people attended the two-day Old Time Fiddlers Convention this past weekend on the VanHoy Farms Family Campground.
The event showcased talent competitions on two stages. Organizers were pleased with the turnout and support from musicians and fans from several states, including some attending from as far away as Florida and Ohio.
More than $7,000 in prize money, trophies and ribbons was awarded to winners. The event is a revival of the original fiddlers’ convention that began at the Union Grove Elementary School in 1924 and ended in 1979.
The event was moved to the VanHoy Farm in 1970. The H.P. VanHoy Memorial Arena was again filled with sounds of traditional old-time and bluegrass music.
Casey VanHoy, owner of the campground, said he is committed to hosting the event each year on Easter Weekend.
The 2012 winners:
Old Time Band — champion, Back Step; 2nd, Brynmor; 3rd, Up Jumped Trouble.
Bluegrass Band — champion, Adam McPeak & Mountain Thunder; 2nd, Blu Vue; 3rd, Raisin Cain.
Most Promising Talent — champion, Kirkman Sisters; 2nd, Isaac Moore; 3rd, Heidi Holloway.
Vocal — champion, Beth Smith; 2nd, Julie Johnson: 3rd, Ronnie Miller.
Autoharp — champion, Lois Shumaker; 2nd, Ronnie Burrough; 3rd, Michael Poole.
Bluegrass Fiddle — champion, Marlon Dean; 2nd, Daniel Greeson; 3rd, Carrie Webster.
Old Time Fiddle — champion, Debbie Gitlin; 2nd, Joe Furtado; 3rd, Ad Norcross.
Bluegrass Banjo — champion, Jim Fraley; 2nd, Alex Edwards; 3rd, Brennen Ernst.
Old Time Banjo — champion, Nancy Sluys; 2nd, Wayne Erbsen; 3rd, Victor Furtado.
Guitar — champion, Allen Shad; 2nd, Steve Kilby; 3rd, Stanley Widener.
Mandolin — champion, Allan McMillan; 2nd, Connor Lambert; 3rd, Tom Mindte
Bass — champion, Aaron Tipton; 2nd, Jerry Steinburg; 3rd, Daniel Perry.
Dobro — champion, Danny Hargis; 2nd, Ray Borne; 3rd, Donnie Scott.
Contact Casey VanHoy at 704-539-5493 for more information on this year’s event.