All-County Cheerleading awards given

Published 12:00 am Saturday, March 31, 2012

The All-Rowan County High School Cheerleading Championship was held on Feb. 25. Placing first in the competition and taking home the Jessica Grady Cup for the third year in a row was Jesse C. Carson High School. Carson’s team is coached by Becky Glenn, who attributes her team’s winning streak to the cheerleaders working hard all year long. Unlike other sports, cheerleading at her school is a year-round commitment. Administrators at Carson have been heard to comment that the cheerleaders are “the hardest working athletes in the building.”
East Rowan High School took second place. Coach Taren Davis, a former East Rowan cheerleader, says each member of her squad is a hard worker and that this event gives the team an opportunity to demonstrate their talents. Davis was especially proud of the fact that all four of her individual nominees for All-County Cheerleader were selected, with one being named Player of the Year.
North Rowan High School, coached by Natalie Wittich, took third place honors in this year’s event. Wittich’s goal is to develop a strong cheerleading program at North, and she appears well on her way to achieving that. Wittich, herself a former North Rowan cheerleader, says this competition helps in attaining her aim, as it gives the cheerleaders “a goal to work towards.”
The Jessica Grady Cup is a rotating award. The winning school keeps it for a year before bringing it back and trying to win the cup again at the next year’s competition. The cup is named for Jessica Grady, a West Rowan cheerleader from 2002 to 2004 who was killed in an automobile accident.
All-Rowan County Cheerleaders for 2011-2012 were announced at the event. Coaches from each school nominated up to four cheerleaders and submitted videos for judging. Nominees were chosen based on excellence in tumbling skills, both running and standing, superior stunting skills and jumps, sharp cheer motions and dancing ability. Cheerleaders selected as All-County Cheerleaders are:
Brittany Parrish, East Rowan High
Brianna Brinkley, East Rowan High
Corbyn Morris, East Rowan High
Nanci Lefko, East Rowan High
Samaya Byrd, North Rowan High
Jill Foster, Jesse C. Carson High
Taylor Rogers, Jesse C. Carson High
In addition, Corbyn Morris was named “Player of the Year” and won a $200 award. Morris, a sophomore at East is a very talented cheerleader and takes honor classes, Davis says.
The All-Rowan County High School Cheerleading Championship was hosted by Spirit Solutions. Nationally certified judges selected the winning teams.