First Photo Expo awards prizes

Published 12:00 am Friday, March 30, 2012

Photo Expo 2012, sponsored by Carolina Artists, was held March 23-23 at the Salisbury Civic Center. The competition drew 23 photographers from Rowan and surrounding counties, and over $600 was awarded to winners, including:
Best in Show:
Zelia Frick for a fall landscape, “Autumn Trail.”
Black and White:
1st — Brittney Weicht
2nd — Jack Lesansky
3rd — Matt DeBoer
Honorable Mention: Jack Lesansky, Matt DeBoer.
1st — Celeste Ward
2nd — Myrnie McLaughlin;
3rd place — Zelia Frick
Honorable Mentions: Nancy Haines and Myrnie McLaughlin.
Special Digital Effects
1st — Jack Lesansky
2nd — Bill Ward
3rd — Barbara Duffy
Honorable Mentions: Jack Lesansky and Bill Ward.
The People’s Choice Award resulted in a tie between Deidra Powell and Shari Keller.
Sponsors and contributors included The Rowan Arts Council, Salisbury Parks and Recreation, BayPhoto, Bethamy Retirement Center, Cheerwine, Don Coggins Financial Services, Doug Jones Insurance Agency, The Fine Frame Gallery, Gary Fong Studio-quality Lighting, Krispy Kreme, Nik Software, onOne Software, Queen City TV and Appliances, Summersett Funeral Home, O’Charley’s Restaurant, WSAT Radio, WSTP Radio, Ford Broadcasting — WRNA and WRKB and X-Rite Photo.
Ashley Fetner of Asheboro served as judge. Fetner specializes in fine art photography and lifestyle portraits, and his photographs have been featured in the 2009 National Geographic Landscapes of the World Calendar, issues of the National Geographic Explorer, North Carolina Wildlife and SC Homes and Gardens. He has taught photography at Appalachian State University, Caldwell Community College and Randolph Community College.
The Carolina Artists group was formed in 1990 by working artists to provide more opportunities for local artists to be recognized. They currently present two other annual shows: a multi-media expo (for adults 18 years and older) and the Student expo for Rowan County students in grades K-12.
This year’s officers and board members are Yvonne Alligood (president), Robert Robble (vice president), Celeste Ward (treasurer), Elizabeth McAdams (recording secretary), Carolyn Kirkman, program chairman, Bill Ward (Photo Expo chairman), Ingrid Erickson (Student Expo Chairman), Clyde (multi-media Expo chairman), Wayne Wrights (web site chairman).
The group meets monthly and artists at any level of expertise are welcome to join.For more information go to www.thecarolina