Catawba honors three at dinner

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, February 29, 2012

A Catawba College alumna, a faculty member and a student were each recognized at the college’s annual Church/College Dinner held Feb. 20 in Peeler Crystal Lounge.
Those attending included trustees, college administrators, students and supporters of Catawba’s Campus Ministry and its Lilly Center for Vocation and Values.
Church/College Award
The Rev. Dr. Barbara Kershner Daniel ’80 of Frederick, Md., received Catawba’s 2012 Church/College Award. She was recognized for her contributions to “the life of the church through a variety of ministries.”
The award was presented to her by Catawba College President Joseph B. Oxendine. Expressing gratitude to her parents for involving her from an early age in the life of her church, Daniel said she accepted the award “on behalf of the church.”
“I am grateful for everything I’m able to do for Catawba because of what Catawba did for me,” she explained.
Ordained for almost 30 years, Daniel has pastored three local congregations in Pennsylvania and Maryland, including her current post as senior pastor of Frederick Evangelical and Reformed United Church of Christ in Frederick, Md. She has chaired the Board of Trustees of Lancaster Theological Seminary (which is affiliated with the United Church of Christ) and serves as a member of the Catawba College Board of Trustees. She has also been appointed to the Office of General Ministries, the Wider Church Ministries Board and the Pension Boards of the United Church of Christ. Catawba honored her in 2003 with its Distinguished Alumna Award. Married to Kenneth, also a pastor, they are parents of two adult sons.
Established five years ago, the Church/College Award is a way for the college to recognize and express appreciation to persons who have served both the college and the church in exemplary ways. Previous recipients include in 2008 — Wade Hampton Shuford Jr., ’50, and the late Claude S. Abernethy Jr.; in 2009, the Rev. Dr. Richard Cheek ’47; in 2010, the Rev. Dr. Thomas Hamilton ’55; and in 2011, the Rev. Kristin Gerner Vaughn ’99.
Paul Fisher Service Awards
A Catawba College faculty member and a student, both of whom make service an integral part of their life, were recognized as the recipients of the annual Paul Fisher Service Awards.
Dr. Stephen Etters of Salisbury, associate professor of music at Catawba, was recognized as the faculty/staff recipient of the Fisher Award. In addition to his regular employment responsibilities as coordinator of music education at Catawba, Etters is a choir director at Stallings Memorial Baptist Church, volunteer director of the Salisbury High School Marching Band, and director of the 17-piece Salisbury Swing Band. The Swing Band has volunteered to provide music for the annual Harvest Moon Ball at the Lutheran Home at Trinity Oaks in Salisbury and has performed to raise funds for Rowan Helping Ministries.
Senior Jacob Hill of Salisbury, a chemistry major with minors in biology and mathematics, was recognized as the student recipient of the Fisher Award. He was recognized for his work with the Lilly Center, including his participation in its Retreat Leadership Corps that coordinates Leadership Retreats and Life Journey Retreats, and his volunteer work at Rowan Helping Ministries and participation in mission trips to tornado-devastated Tuscaloosa, Ala. He has also been a volunteer coach for the Carson High School wrestling team and a counselor for the past two years at the Winter Youth Retreat, sponsored by the Southern Conference of the United Church of Christ.
Donors recognized
Donor funds, established to support the efforts of both Campus Ministry and the Lilly Center for Vocation and Values, were recognized at the event. The funds, their donors and their purpose include the following:
• A new fund to underwrite the cost of vocational mini-retreats was established through the estate of David Boyd Davis, ’44, with assistance in securing the estate gift provided by David Jordan, ’59.
• The Porter and Maria Seiwell Fund for Campus Ministry was established by Richard “Dick,” ’67, and Linda Seiwell and James “Jim,” ’64 and Martha “Marty,” ’63, Dayvault.
• The Brenna Lawrence Scholarship Fund to benefit students preparing for service was established in memory of Brenna Lawrence, ’02, by her parents, Brent and Jackie Lawrence, family and friends.
The Leonard Scholarship Fund for students preparing for ministry was established by Barry, ’65, and Clara Leonard.
• The Olivia Najarian Fund for Volunteerism was established in memory of infant Olivia by her parents, David, ’97, and Dena, ’94, Najarian, and her grandparents, Dottie and the late Wayne Fraley.
• The Joyce Caddell Fund for Volunteer Service was established in honor of retired mathematics faculty member Joyce Caddell by her husband, Tom.
• The Pedersen Fund for Volunteerism was established by a gift from Margaret Rintz-Pedersen, ’58, and her husband, Ronald.
• The Jacob O. Moose for Campus Ministry was established by the family of the late Jacob Moose, ’38.