Spencer candlelight home tour lineup
600 Fourth St.
Year built: 1919
Current residents: Steve and Jody Vail
Built by Dr. Sigmon when his original family home burned down. Sigmon sent his family to live with relatives while he rebuilt the current concrete-stucco home as a Spanish Colonial with a flat roof. Later, the roof was slanted. The Sigmon family owned the home until Dr. Sigmonís death and sold it in 1971.
Steve and Jody Vail purchased the home in 2005 and tackled several renovations and updates. The house has original hardwood floors, oak window and door frames and claw-foot bathtub purchased for the house in 1919. A 1906 French antique vanity and sink also grace the home.
308 S. Carolina Ave.
Year built: 1907
Current resident: Jill Peterson
This Queen Anne-Colonial Revival home has undergone many changes and additions through the years and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Minnie Puryear, whose husband was an engineer in Spencer, ran a boarding house on the premises in the 1910s. During the same time, the house gained notoriety when it appeared on a postcard. When the picture was taken, the streets had not been paved. In 1919, P. Surratt bought the home.
Jill Peterson bought the house in 2002 and has been gradually renovating it. The house has many charming architectural details, including a beautiful front staircase in the entry hall as well as a back staircase off of the kitchen.
J.K. Dorsett House
301 Fourth St.
Year built: 1902
Current resident: Tommy Stoner
Built around 1902 for banker J.K. Dorsett, this home stands across the street from the old school and current Spencer Library. With an irregular Queen Anne form, the home has a pyramidal roofline cut by dormers and gables forming projecting bays. The second story is clad in shingles. A wraparound porch features classical Tuscan columns. Leaded glass transoms are found over the first-story windows, entry and sidelights.
Original to the house are eight tile fireplaces, surrounding mantels and wood floors. The structure was constructed from lumber shipped on the railroad from Vermont.
Tommy Stoner and his late wife, Tonya, bought the house in the early 1990s. Former residents include Judge Tommy Seay, Dr. Slate and Judy Patton.
Robert Miller House
405 S. Baldwin Avenue
Year built: 1930
Current resident: Lynn Plummer
Originally built as a one-story frame cottage in 1930, the home retains parts of the original structure, including the pine floors and a brick fireplace in the living room.
Lynn Plummer purchased this charming home in 2008 after it had been remodeled during the early part of the 2000s by the prior owners. A blend of old and new can be enjoyed throughout. The home is decorated with the homeownerís original photography.
L.L. Lefler House
413 S. Spencer Ave.
Year built: 1925
Current resident: Marty Lineberger
This home is a feast for the eyes. Lovers of cottage-style homes will delight in the repetition of hand-painted accents and murals, wood flooring and carved mantels, all wonderful backdrops to the many Christmas trees on display.
The quaint kitchen is rockiní in the í50s with a silver tree, diner booth and Coca Cola accents. A ěcollectorís delightî tree features vintage and handmade ornaments.
Central United Methodist Church Parsonage
Year built: 1930
Current residents: Pastors William and Anna Mandelstamm
This brick foursquare home has served as the home for Central United Methodist Churchís pastor and his family since its construction.
The house plan was modified originally to make space for a downstairs bedroom and bathroom suite, uncommon during the time period.
Original details include windows, tiled fireplace, oak floors, staircase and banister. The 1889 Story and Clark Reed Organ in the foyer belongs to the current residents.
Tickets are $10, on sale at Debbie Barnhart Jewelers, Spencer Home Supply, Green Goat Gallery and the Rowan County Convention & Visitors Bureau.