Published 12:00 am Wednesday, November 16, 2011

By Sarah Campbell
GREENSBORO — Dr. Diane Frost of Asheboro City Schools was named the state superintendent of the year during a ceremony Tuesday.
Dr. Judy Grissom, superintendent of the Rowan-Salisbury School System, was one of three finalists for the honor.
Grissom was selected as superintendent of the year for the southwest region earlier this year.
Dr. Tim Farley of Granville County Schools was the third finalist.
Grissom took over as the leader of Rowan-Salisbury Schools in July 2006. The North Rowan High School graduate worked as associate superintendent of Alamance-Burlington School System before returning home.
The N.C. Association of Supervision and Curriculum Development awarded Grissom the N.C. Distinguished Educator Award in 2010. The honor is given annually to a member of the organization who has made significant contributions to education through visionary and committed leadership.
The state superintendent of the year is chosen based on leadership in learning, communication, professionalism and community involvement. A selection committee appointed by the N.C. Association of School Administrators and the N.C. School Boards Association made the final decision.
Frost has served as superintendent of Asheboro City Schools for more than a decade.
She has also been awarded the N.C. Distinguished Educator Award as well as the Schools Council on Accreditation and School Improvement’s John M. Davis Distinguished Educational Achievement Award.
Contact reporter Sarah Campbell at 704-797-7683.