• 54°

Salisbury Symphony to perform Vivaldi's 'Four Seasons'

The Salisbury Symphony Orchestra takes to the stage on Nov. 19 with only two pieces on the program that nevertheless will fill the evening.
Vivaldi’s popular “Four Seasons” is first to be played. Maestro David Hagy has chosen to begin the piece with “Autumn” in recognition of our current season. Four of the orchestra’s finest violinists are soloists, one per season: Concertmaster Daniel Skidmore, Associate Concertmaster R.J.Wohlman, Assistant Concertmaster Sarah Womack, and Principal Second Violin Allison Willet.
Vivaldi wrote sonnets to accompany each of the movements, and those will be displayed on the screens on either side of the stage in both Italian and English for the appropriate season.
In addition, the Land Trust of Central North Carolina has collected breathtaking photographs of the seasons and will share those on the screens as well.
After intermission, Dvorak’s Symphony 9, “From the New World” will take the audience back to America at the turn of the 20th century. A visitor to the “new world,” Dvorak was captivated by the energy and synergy of the people and their music as Dr. Renee McCachren mentions in the program notes, “It was through his total immersion with those cultures that he captured the spirit of African-American and Native American music in his melodies.”
The concert will be held in Varick Auditorium on the campus of Livingstone College, beginning at 7:30 p.m. The box office opens at 6:30 p.m. Tickets at the door are $20 for adults, $6 for students (ages 9-18), and $4 for children, and may be purchased in advance at ticket outlets Belk (Salisbury Mall), Convention & Visitors Bureau, Sidewalk Deli, Green Goat Gallery (Spencer) and Crescent Pharmacy (Rockwell), through PayPal at www.salisburysymphony.org or by phone at 704-637-4314.


Comments closed.


Kannapolis Police searching for suspect who fled scene of homicide


RSS superintendent talks district’s future, strategic plan survey


Complaints and fines pile up against unpermitted landfill in southwest Rowan County


Catawba baseball: Crowd comes out to say goodbye to Newman Park


History is a great teacher: Farming has helped shape Rowan County


‘A safe place for them’: Timeless Wigs and Marvelous Things celebrates fifth anniversary

China Grove

County will hear request for more tree houses, hobbit-style homes in China Grove


Livingstone College partners with Health Department to administer 500 Pfizer vaccinations


‘Elite and it shows’: Staff at Partners in Learning at Novant celebrate news of national accreditation


Biz Roundup: Food Lion earns Energy Star award for 20th consecutive year


Ester Marsh: What body type are you?


The queen says goodbye to Philip, continues her reign alone


Worldwide COVID-19 death toll tops a staggering 3 million


US, China agree to cooperate on climate crisis with urgency


Sikh community calls for gun reforms after FedEx shooting

High School

North Rowan romps into second round of football playoffs


FBI had interviewed former FedEx employee who killed eight


Gastonia man sentenced for crash into restaurant that killed his daughter, daughter-in-law


Some call for charges after video of police shooting 13-year-old in Chicago


State unemployment rate falls to 5.2% in March


NASCAR approach to virus vaccine varies greatly


Judge rejects Cherokee challenge against new casino in Kings Mountain


Jackson tops NC Senate fundraising; Walker coffers also full


Kiwanis Pancake Festival serves thousands of flapjacks for charity