Third Creek Pres celebrates 260 years
On Oct. 9, 2011, Third Creek Presbyterian Church in Cleveland will hold its homecoming and on the same day will celebrate the 260th anniversary of the church. The church is nestled in rural Cleveland on Third Creek Church Road and boasts a rich history.
The earliest known beginnings of the church are in 1751 when traveling Presbyterian minister John Thomson preached to the immigrant Scots-Irish communities of Rowan County. Rev Thomson delivered his sermons at Third Creek Church from a ěpreaching standî until sometime around 1785 when the congregation built a log building for worship. In 1835 the present brick church was built. Today much of the original church is still in use, including the doors, the floors and the pews among many other things.
The cemetery contains a number of graves of well-known individuals, not the least of which is the grave of Peter Stuart Ney, thought by many to be Marshal Michel Ney, Napoleonís famous general. Michel Ney was thought to be executed in France, and yet during bouts of drinking, Peter Stuart Ney claimed to be the French Marshal. In addition, doctors noted shrapnel scars of war on Peter Neyís body, and handwriting analysts have found startling similarities between Marshal Neyís and Peter Neyís writing. Today the controversy remains.
Leading up to homecoming day are several more exciting events: open houses at the church featuring self-guided tours on Sept. 10 and 25; a concert by gospel group The Pine Ridge Boys on Oct. 1; and a pre-communion service on Wednesday evening, Oct. 5, much like the pre-communion services of the 18th and 19th century churches.
For exact dates and times, check the churchís web site at thirdcreekpc.org .