Krispy Kreme president to speak at Catawba

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, September 14, 2011

SALISBURY ó Krispy Kreme President James Morgan will deliver the keynote address next month for Catawba Collegeís eighth annual Distinguished CEO Lecture Series.
Morgan will speak at 11 a.m. Oct. 13. In anticipation of a large crowd, the college moved the lecture to Keppel Auditorium.
Krispy Kreme will sponsor a reception immediately following the speech in Peeler Crystal Lounge. The lecture is sponsored by the Ralph W. Ketner School of Business.
Morgan was named president and CEO of the Winston-Salem based Krispy Kreme Doughnuts Inc. in January 2008. He has been a member of the Krispy Kreme Board of Directors since 2000 and was elected chairman in 2005.
He served as chairman and CEO of Wachovia Securities following the acquisition of Interstate/Johnson Lane Inc. by Wachovia Corporation. He also served as chairman and CEO of Interstate/Johnson Lane Inc.
Past member of the Securities Industry Association Board of Directors and the New York Stock Exchange regional firms committee, Morgan now serves on the board of directors for Coca-Coca Bottling Company Consolidated.
Morgan has more than 35 years of business experience and is a 1969 graduate of Vanderbilt University. He also served as a lieutenant in the U.S. Navy.
He maintains a lifelong commitment to youth and education through his involvement with charitable organizations. He and his wife Peggy live in Winston-Salem.
Krispy Kreme was founded in July 1937 by Vernon Rudolph who bought a secret yeast-raised doughnut recipe from a New Orleans French chef, rented a building in what is now historic Old Salem, and began selling doughnuts to local grocery stores. Today, the company has 669 stores (including franchisee stores) in the United States and 21 countries and employs 3,900. The stock is traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol KKD.
Morgan will join other CEOs who have delivered the keynote address at Catawbaís Distinguished CEO Lectures, including Louis DeJoy, chief executive officer of New Breed Logistics; Jeffrey Kane, former senior vice president in charge of the Charlotte office of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond; Bob Ingram, vice chairman pharmaceuticals, GlaxoSmithKline; Ellen Ruff, then president of Duke Energy of the Carolinas; Robert Wagner, Loweís senior vice president of specialty sales and store operations support; Kelly King, chairman and chief executive officer of BB&T Corporation; and Bryan Jordan, president and chief executive officer of First Horizon National Corporation in Memphis, Tenn.