Area briefs: Price Hall of Fame

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, June 21, 2011

From staff reports
The sixth annual J.C. Price Hall of Fame banquet was held June 17 at Cornerstone Church.
Committee co-chairman Rufus Little presided and co-chairman John Mackey gave the purpose of the occasion.
Inducted posthumously were basketball player Wellington Coleman (Class of 1954) and football player Floyd “Pop” Kerr (1947).
Also inducted were majorette Mary Emma Fisher Rankin (1951), musician Norris Currence (1955), basketball player Vernal Coleman (1955), football player Jethro Partee (1956), football player Carl Marlin (1967) and football player Donald Graham (1967).
The Hall of Fame committee’s motto is “keeping history and memories alive.”
Legion baseball
Kannapolis knew it had to beat Statesville at home on Monday and earn a season split if it wanted any chance of making the playoffs.
Mission accomplished.
Lefty Rob Bain shut down Statesville 11-1 as coach Matt Stack’s team improved to 2-5 in the division.
Hitters who knocked around Statesville (4-9, 2-7) included Wes Honeycutt, Dylan May and Taylor West. All three went 2-for-3.
West drove in three runs.
Kannapolis faces the Mooresville Legends (2-4) tonight.
Kannapolis’ 1961 state championship team, the last Kannapolis team to win the title, held a 50-year reunion prior to the game at Fieldcrest Cannon Stadium as guests of the Intimidators. Coach Bill Ford and most of the surviving players and bat boys were on hand.
A story on that legendary team is upcoming in the Post.
Rowan County’s July 1 game with the Mooresville Moors will now be played at Newman Park instead of at Lake Norman High.
Minor leagues
The Kansas City Royals have assigned left-hander Rudy Brown (South Rowan, UNC Pembroke) near home.
Brown will play in the short-season Appalachian League for the Burlington Royals. Burlington opens play tonight.
Signed as a free agent last summer, Brown posted a 2-1 record and a 2.52 ERA in 15 appearances in the Arizona Rookie League.
Craige Lyerly (East Rowan, Catawba) has been assigned by Tampa Bay to the Hudson Valley Renegades of the New York-Penn League, a short-season Class A team.
Lyerly went 2-for-8 in his first two games and scored the winning run in the 10th inning on Sunday.
A 19th-round pick in the 2010 draft, Lyerly is playing left field for the Renegades.
Wood bat leagues
Morganton’s John J. Tuttle (A.L. Brown, Catawba) has a 1.64 ERA after two starts in the Southern Collegiate Baseball League. He’s allowed two runs while striking out 10.
Justin Watts used a gap wedge on the 123-yard No. 8 hole at Crescent to record a hole-in-one.
Watts’ playing partners were Kelley Moss, David Mena and Adam Greene.
Catawba baseball
Catawba’s Nick Lomascolo and Chris Dula have been named to the North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association College Division All-State team.
Thirteen players earned spots on the team, which consists of non-Division I NCAA student-athletes from North Carolina colleges and universities.
Lomascolo anchored the Catawba pitching staff, posting a 9-3 record and a 2.78 ERA.
Dula, a third baseman, was the SAC Freshman of the Year and also an all-region selection. The first team all-conference pick led Catawba with a .377 average, topping the team in hits (81), runs (52), doubles (21) and RBIs (62).
Youth girls basketball
The Lady Phenoms played in the recent Summer Showdown.
The Lady Phenoms defeated the Magic 31-11 and beat the Primetime Players 29-10 for the championship.
Lady Phenom players include Bryanna Troutman, Sara Vanhoy, Ty Alexander, Janiya Downs, Niah Spratt, Aundrea Godfrey, Taylor Wiggins and Taylor Hairston.
Anyone needing information or wanting to try out should call Coach Marcus White at 704-490-5844.
Youth football
The Salisbury 49ers won championships in all four divisions in the Southland Conference Spring League by defeating the Georgia Bulldogs in championship games.
The 5-6 year-olds won 12-0 to finish at 5-0. The 7-8 year olds won 32-0 to end at 5-3. The 9-10 year olds won 12-6 for a 6-2 record. The 11-12 year olds won 6-0 to complete their season at 7-1.
All teams will be honored at an awards banquet on June 26 at the Salisbury Elks Lodge.