Area briefs: East pitcher honored

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 9, 2011

From staff reports
East Rowan pitcher Chelsea White was named North Piedmont Conference Player of the Year for softball, while East’s Mike Waddell was named NPC Coach of the Year.
East also placed Ericka Nesbitt, Kayla Kirk, Bobbi Thomas, Sydney Poole and Steffi Sides on the all-conference team.
Carson’s Kathryn Beaver, Chloe Monroe and Marissa Sellers made All-NPC, along with West Rowan’s Sarah Perrine, Ashlynn Perry and Kristine South and South Rowan’s Kim Fesperman and Kayla Corriher.
East Rowan’s Bradley Robbins was named NPC Pitcher of the Year.
Joining Robbins on the All-NPC team from East were Justin Morris, Luke Thomas, Will Sapp, Nathan Fulbright, Andy Austin and Will Johnson.
Carson’s Joseph Basinger, Josh Martin, Gunnar Hogan and K.J. Pressley made the team, along with South Rowan’s Tyler Kowalczyk, Eric Tyler and Matt Miller and West Rowan’s Madison Osborne and Patrick Hampton.
West Iredell’s Randy Martin was NPC Coach of the Year, while WI’s Sean Grant was named NPC Player of the Year.
See Scoreboard for full team.
West Rowan’s John Brown shared NPC Coach of the Year honors for boys tennis with Statesville’s Todd Jones.
West Rowan’s Joel Brittain, Chris Holmes, Kevin Robinson and Doug Petrea made all-conference, along with East’s Logan Casper and Justin Allen, Carson’s Frank Thomas and South Rowan’s Jared Waters and Reynold Sanchez.
Statesville’s Parks Thompson was named NPC Player of the Year.
East’s Rick Roseman was named NPC Coach of the Year for boys track.
East’s Ben Hancock was the league’s runner of the year, while West Rowan’s Quinton Phifer was honored as the field events performer of the year, and South’s Michael York was voted distance runner of the year.
Other All-NPC performers included East’s Chase Brown, Jordan Hopper, Evan Hiatt, Dillon Arey, Sam Sherman, Joseph Furtado and Shawn Galloway; West Rowan’s Jamarian Mabry, C.J. Ellis, Trey Cuthbertson, William Camps. Tevin Gregory, Brandon Ijames, Daisean Reddick, Trey Mashore and Harvey Landy; South’s Caleb O’Neal, Eric Delgado, Alex Reed and Karl Benz and Carson’s Darius Gardner.
East’s Conner Lowman, Mason Preslar, James Lohr and Preston Rogers earned spots on the All-NPC golf team, along with West Rowan’s Jake Kennedy and James DeCoster and Carson’s Matt Yates.
Statesville’s Jack Archibald was NPC Golfer of the Year, with Statesville’s Ted Crowley earning coaching honors.
West Rowan’s Nick Brown was named NPC Coach of the Year for girls soccer, and West’s Allison Baucom was named NPC Player of the Year.
Also making the NPC team from West Rowan were Allison Bailey, Allison Parker, Kayla Boley, Mary McCachren, Brittany Gibbons and Toni Lucente.
East placed Amanda Lee, Rachel Hardy-Simpson and Abby Kepley on the All-NPC team, while Carson was represented by Jordan Murdock and Hannah Wise.
East Rowan’s Lu Gamewell was named NPC Coach of the Year for girls track, and South Rowan’s Hannah Houston was voted the league’s distance runner of the year.
South also placed Alexa Allison and Quasha Littlejohn on the All-NPC team.
East’s Ashley Brown, Jenna Cauble, Abby Kepley, Devan Corpening and Megan Linke made All-NPC, along with West Rowan’s Leslie Pence and Christa Landy and Carson’s Sierra Zemanick, Jesse Troutman, Devan Purvis, Jordan Murdock, Miranda Wyatt, Paris Parks, Krystal Wood, Jada Holloway, Demya Heggins, Porshe Parks and Jan Sitterson.
Statesville’s Yasmeen Culbreath was named the top performer in field events, while Lershonda Ellis of West Iredell was the top runner.
Salisbury’s Karen Presnell was named CCC Player of the Year for girls soccer and was joined on the All-CCC team by Olivia Rankin, Madison Kennedy, Whitney Brown, Jenna Bryan, Susannah Dixon and Alee Johnson.
Salisbury’s Matt Parrish was named CCC Coach of the Year.
Salisbury’s Steven Page was voted CCC Player of the Year for tennis and was joined on the All-CCC team by Alan Lebowitz, Lewis Young, Seth Gentry, Brock Overcash and Alex Weant.
Salisbury’s Chris Stroupe was runner-up to Central Davidson’s Justin Palmer for CCC Coach of the Year honors.
Salisbury’s Roy Dixon, Alex Nianouris, Clark Alcorn, Troy Beaver, Alex Lee, Eric Edwards made the All-CCC team.
Dixon was CCC Player of the Year, and Alcorn was runner-up.
Salisbury’s Philip Tonseth was named CCC Performer of the Year for boys track, and Salisbury’s Darius Bryson was named CCC Coach of the Year.
Joining Tonseth on the All-CCC team were Darien Rankin, William Brown, Keion Adams, James Means, Victor Faries, Romar Morris, Corey Murphy, Justin Lewis, David Simons, Marqui Ross, Justin Ruffin, Hansen Saryee, Dominique Dismuke, Freeman Payton, John Jarrett, Luke Hutton and Tyler Downs.
Salisbury’s Summer Taylor was named CCC Performer of the Year for girls track. Salisbury’s Katherine Shields tied for runner-up honors. Salisbury’s David Johnson was named CCC Coach of the Year.
Also making the All-CCC team from Salisbury were Talina Ross, Ayanna Holmes, Alisha Bradshaw, Bryce Ford, Najwa Allison, Emily Shields, Briunna Gibbs, Ayanna Alexander, Zacola Hamilton and Jericho Rippy.
Salisbury’s Philip Tonseth, Brian Bauk and John Knox were named to the All-CCC baseball team.
West Davidson’s Jerry Walser was named CCC Coach of the Year, while West Davidson’s Gary Ferguson was named CCC Player of the Year.
See Scoreboard.
Salisbury’s Kailyn Cowger made the All-CCC team and was co-runner-up for CCC Player of the Year honors.
Central Davidson’s Kara Lohr was named CCC Player of the Year.
Davie’s Connor Bodenhamer, Carson Herndon, Alex Newman, Corey Randall and Joe Watson made the All-CPC baseball team.
Davie’s Mike Herndon was named CPC Coach of the Year, and Davie’s Ryan Foster was named CPC Pitcher of the Year. North Davidson’s Jordan Ramsey was the CPC Player of the Year.
See Scoreboard.
Davie’s Justin Cook and Tommy Dillon made the All-CPC golf team.
Davie’s Scott Galimore and Evan Lankford made the All-CPC tennis team, and Davie’s Gordon McEachran was named CPC Coach of the Year.
Davie’s Kayla Cornatzer, Morgan Hendrix, Sadie Lagle, Haley McCune, Caroline Miller and Kristina Parrish made the All-CPC team.
Davie’s Mekayla Boswell, Kaitlyn Hutchins, Anna McBride, Sam Moyer and Jorie Sineath earned spots on the All-CPC girls track team.
Davie’s Ricky Bell, Brad Deal, Tristin Jarvis and Adam Smith were All-CPC in boys track.
Bell was the league’s MVP for field events.
Davie’s Laura Shelton made the All-CPC girls soccer team.
Legion baseball
Kannapolis lost 13-3 at Stanly County in American Legion baseball on Wednesday.
Zach Jones took the loss on the mound. David Broome had two hits.
Josh Cochran homered for Stanly.
Drew Cole and Jace Whitley had three hits apiece for the home club, and Michael Lisk went all seven innings on the mound.
Please note that Kannapolis’ home game against Mocksville tonight is scheduled for 8 p.m.
Minor leagues
Kyle Seager (NW Cabarrus) had two hits for Jackson in a 1-0 win against Tennessee on Wednesday. The former UNC star is batting .317 in Double A.
Whit Merrifield (Davie) stole his 13th base and scored the only run for Wilmington in a 9-1 Carolina League loss to Kinston on Wednesday.
Winston-Salem’s Daniel Wagner (South Rowan) knocked in two runs, stole his 10th base and turned a double play in Wednesday’s game at Myrtle Beach.
Local golf
The Corbin Hills Ladies held a Rally for The Cure golf event on Tuesday.
The Low gross winner was Becky Isenhour. She was followed by Phyllis Durland, Kristi Laton and Beth Calhoun.
Low net winner was Cindy Carmazzi, followed by Mary Seaford and Anna Robinson.
Low putts was won by Norma Burgess; longest putt was won by Carolynn Ries, and closest to the pin was won by Durland.