Kaye Hirst named Preservation Leader

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 25, 2011

SALISBURY — Kaye Hirst, executive director for the Rowan Museum, has been named the 2011 Long Time Preservation Leader by Historic Salisbury Foundation.
Doug Black and Ben Martin are volunteers of the year, and Ben Hooper has won the Craftsmen and Professionals Award.
Winners will be honored at 6:30 p.m. Thursday during the 27th Annual Preservation Awards at the Salisbury Station, 215 Depot St.
Additional winners include:
• Commercial revitalization through historic preservation C.F. Parks and Company Inc., Mambo Grill, Norvell Theater, St. Luke’s Episcopal Church
• Special mention-National Historic Register listing Davyd Foard Hood, Clay and Connie Lindsay for Boxwood, Luther Sowers and Charles Sowers for the Griffith Sowers House, Joe Wilson for Eastover
• Private preservation and neighborhood revitalization Linda Ray Donaldson, Eddie Hampton, Jeff and Rosemary Schaap
• Private education and publications Ed and Sue Curtis for the Salisbury Confederate Symposium, the 2011 History Course Committee (including chairwoman Barbara Upright and Doug Black, Reginald Brown, Kaye Hirst, Terry Holt, Anne Lyles and Dr. Martha West)
• Hall House volunteer docents Ray Barber, Doug Black, Leslie Black, Lucinda Epperson, Grady Hall, Don Heidt, Anita Miller, Gavine Pitner, Hilda Ramseur, Linda Thompson and Barbara Upright
Tickets to the event cost $20. The reception begins at 6:30 p.m., with the awards presentation at 7:15.
To buy tickets, call 704-636-0103.
Contact reporter Emily Ford at 704-797-4264.