Catawba Wind Ensemble hits the road

Published 12:00 am Monday, April 4, 2011

SALISBURY — The Catawba College Wind Ensemble, under the direction of Dr. Stephen Etters, associate professor of music, will embark by bus Wednesday on its “2011 Mid-Atlantic Tour.”
About 40 students, with majors as diverse as environmental science and elementary education, in addition to music and music education, will present concerts and offer master classes in a variety of venues before returning to campus Sunday.
Stops include Chase High School in Forest City on Wednesday; Galax High School in Galax, Va., and Cave Spring High School in Roanoke, Va., on Thursday; Appomattox County High School, Appomattox, Va., on Friday; Busch Gardens Theme Park, Williamsburg, Va., on Saturday; and First United Church of Christ, Hampton, Va., on Sunday.
The ensemble’s performance repertoire will feature works from Walter Hartley, Anthony Suter, Lowell Shaw, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, John Barrows, Paul Basler, Gilbert and Sullivan, and Robert W. Smith.
Etters said he hopes the tour will help spread the word about Catawba’s thriving and diverse music program and provide an opportunity to recruit student musicians to the college.
“The main thing I want the high school students to realize when they see a performance of the ensemble is the wide variety of academic majors represented among the musicians,” he said. “Most of the musicians are not music majors, but rather are just students who love music and want to continue to perform.”
Students and faculty making the tour include Amanda Williams, piccolo; Karen Franks, Lauretta Overfield, Michelle Lescure, Savannah Winfrey, and Katie Davidson, flute; Lauren Klopp, oboe; Mary Ellen Williams, bassoon; Professor Richard Graham, Nicholas Luciano, Jackie Shumaker, Rachel Moore, Ryan Connor, Aaron Cheshire, clarinet; Robert Keeney, bass clarinet; Cody Ashby, Sarah Robinson, Cristen Ritchie, alto saxophone; Corey Raven, tenor saxophone; Chase Hunter, baritone saxophone; Dr. Barry Sang, Melanie Hudson, Sarah Morse, Andrew Plummer and H.A. Hummel, horn; Professor Jay Meachum, Tyler Howe, Cory Kluttz, Ashton Alexander, James Grazyck and David Braziel, all trumpet/cornet; John Lincourt, D.J. Colson and Matthew Talbert, trombone; Jessica Bound, bass trombone; Douglas Crawford, euphonium; Conner Andrews, tuba; and Professor Peter Zlotnick, Brent Messenger, Auten Peters, Zandi Watts, Kailyn Cowger, Daniel Mowery and Dale Davis, percussion.