Outdoors: New boating rules
North Carolina is now one of many states that require boaters to have completed a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators approved boating education course.
Organizations that locally provide boater safety courses are beefing up their 2010 schedules to accommodate the increase in demand created by the new regulation. Below are excerpts of information from www. ncwildlife.org and other sources:
“After May 1, 2010, every person under the age of 26 must complete a NASBLA approved boating education course before operating any vessel propelled by a motor of 10 HP or greater in the state of North Carolina.
“North Carolina has the following restrictions for the operators of personal watercraft: No person under 14 years of age may operate a PWC. A person at least 14 years of age but less than 16 years of age may operate a PWC , if the person is accompanied by a person at least 18 years of age who occupies the PWC, or the person possesses ID proof of age and boating safety certification or card indicating the satisfactory completion of a NASBLA boating safety education course.”
“A person 16 years of age or older may operate a PWC without completing a boating safety course, however a course is recommended. The owner of a PWC must not knowingly allow a child under the age of 16 to operate a craft except as provided above.”
Here are some places that provide NASBLA approved courses:
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission: 1-919-707-0032.
Online Courses: Boat-Ed.com, www.boaterexam. com and www.boatus.org
You can visit www.lakenormanstriperfishing. com or e-mail him at Gus@LakeNorman.com.