Spencer firefighters honored

Published 12:00 am Thursday, December 17, 2009

The Spencer Fire Department held its annual Christmas dinner Dec. 5, where it presented awards for service and other achievements.
Capt. Gray Grubb presented service awards to five-year firefighter Jason Cooper; 10-year Lt. Don Sells; 15-year former assistant chief Terry Smith; 20-year firefighter Mark Beck; and 25-year former chief and current firefighter Sam Morgan.
Firefighter Chris Elstrom received the Rookie of the Year award. Former Chief Jay Baker received the Veteran Firefighter of the Year award. Firefighter Todd Spencer received the Fire Chief’s Award.
Interim Fire Chief Stacy Baker recognized special guest Terry Smith and recent retirees former chief Jay Baker and former captain Tony Bean for their years of service.
Mayor Jody Everhart, along with special guest Terry Smith, and retired firefighters Bill Baker, Jay Baker and Tony Bean attended the dinner.