AARP officers elected

Published 12:00 am Friday, December 11, 2009

The Salisbury-Rowan chapter of AARP elected officers for 2010 at its meeting on Dec. 3, 2009.
The 2010 officers are: Judy Bella, president; Jo Kearns, vice president; Martha Haun, secretary; Manie Richardson, treasurer.
The chapter thanked the 2009 officers for their work on behalf of the local AARP chapter. The 2009 officers are: Bob Bruce, president; Vee McHone, vice president; Martha Haun, secretary; Ray Raper, treasurer.
AARP is a volunteer non-profit civic/service organization. The Salisbury-Rowan AARP chapter does not support or oppose any political party or candidate, and is not involved in national health care reform. The chapter offers local service opportunities and promotes fellowship, social interaction and positive change in the community.
Chapter meetings are held the first Thursday of each month at 1 p.m. at Rufty Holmes Senior Center, 1120 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue in Salisbury. The last meeting of each quarter is a potluck lunch starting at noon followed by the regular meeting.
Membership is open to adults 50 and over who belong to the national AARP organization and Rufty Holmes Senior Center. Current annual dues for chapter membership are $3. Guests are welcome.