RCCC scholarship winners

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 9, 2009

RCCC scholarships
Rowan-Cabarrus Community College recognized a number of scholarship recipients at its Dec. 7 board of trustees meeting.
Cameron Gulledge of Kannapolis and J. Travis Hayes of Salisbury have received State Employees Credit Union “People Helping People” Scholarships. The scholarship provides $2,500 a year for two school years. Both Gulledge and Hayes are enrolled in RCCC’s Arts and Sciences (college transfer) program.
Perry Harris, a biotechnology student from Spencer, has received an AkzoNobel Chemical Co., scholarship of $1,000. The scholarship program, established in 1989, supports students pursuing an associate degree and can be used for tuition, books, fees and related school expenses.
Five students have received Food Lion scholarships of $1,000. The program, established in 2003, awards students who work for Food Lion or have family members who are Food Lion employees. The 2009-10 Food Lion Scholarship recipients are:
– Robin Christy of Concord, medical office administration;
– Zachary Lentz of Salisbury, computer information technology;
– John McKinney of Concord, arts and sciences;
– Joshua Self of Concord, air conditioning, heating and refrigeration; and
– Lauren Ervin of China Grove, arts and sciences.
Patricia Wayne, an associate degree nursing student from Salisbury, has received the Nadine Potts ń Jo Franklin Excellence in Nursing Scholarship. The $1,000 scholarship is given annually to a second-year nursing student who demonstrates dedication to duty, compassion and professional integrity exemplified by nurses Nadine Potts and Jo Franklin. The scholarship was established in 2004 by David Potts and Richard Franklin in honor of their wives, Nadine Potts and the late Jo Franklin.