NSSA names honorary board

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

By Mark Wineka
The Atlantic Coast Conference’s Big Four basketball coaches ó Mike Krzyzewski, Roy Williams, Dino Gaudio and Sidney Lowe ó are part of the first honorary board of directors for the Salisbury-based National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.
The coaches will help NSSA market its name throughout the country and are part of a 26-member honorary board from North Carolina. NSSA honors and preserves the accomplishments and legacies of sportscasters and sportswriters.
Each year the NSSA elects a sportscaster and sportswriter from each state, a national sportscaster and sportswriter of the year and two NSSA Hall of Fame inductees.
The NSSA winners and inductees are recognized each year at an awards weekend in Salisbury. The 51st edition will be held May 1-3, 2010.
Here are the members of the inaugural NSSA Honorary Board of Directors:
– Dick Baddour, University of North Carolina athletic director.
– Billy Ray Barnes, Wake Forest University graduate, Rowan County resident and National Football League Player of the Year in 1965.
– Ed Bradley, Wake Forest graduate who won two Super Bowls with the Pittsburgh Steelers.
– Richard Childress, NASCAR team owner and winner of seven Cup championships with Dale Earnhardt.
– Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State University athletic director, who played football at N.C. State University.
– Lee Fowler, N.C. State athletic director.
– Dino Gaudio, Wake Forest basketball coach.
– Jim Grobe, Wake Forest football coach.
– Terry Holland, East Carolina athletic director and former head basketball coach of Virginia and Davidson.
– Skip Holtz, East Carolina football coach.
– Ned Jarrett, former NASCAR champion and television commentator.
– Peter Karmanos Jr., owner of the National Hockey League’s Carolina Hurricanes.
– Mike Krzyzewski, basketball coach of the Duke Blue Devils.
– Sidney Lowe, N.C. State basketball coach.
– Mack McCarthy, East Carolina basketball coach.
– Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University football coach.
– Tom O’Brien, N.C. State football coach.
– Dave Odom, former East Carolina, Wake Forest and South Carolina basketball coach.
– Buzz Peterson, ASU basketball coach.
– Judy Rose, athletic director, University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
– Brad Smith, owner, Kannapolis Intimidators.
– John Swofford, ACC commissioner.
– Ron Wellman, Wake Forest athletic director.
– Humpy Wheeler, former president of Lowe’s Motor Speedway.
– Kevin White, Duke athletic director.
– Roy Williams, UNC basketball coach.