New Teaching Fellows

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

New Teaching Fellows
Twenty-one area high school seniors are 2008 recipients of North Carolina Teaching Fellows scholarships.
Another five are alternates for the award.
Each Teaching Fellow receives a $26,000 scholarship loan from the state, payable in $6,500 annual increments. The full loan is forgiven after the fellow has completed four years of teaching in North Carolina public schools or U.S. government schools.
In addition, all fellows take part in unique academic and summer enrichment programs during their college careers.
This year, 2,156 competed for the 528 scholarships. Area recipients by high school are:
East Rowan High School: Daniel James Allen, Linley Elizabeth Evans, Seth Alexander Schnuit and Joshua Aaron Trexler.
Jesse C. Carson High School: Andrew Scott Moffitt.
North Rowan High School: Savannah Hope Larimore.
Salisbury High School: Morgan Wren Griggs.
South Rowan High School: Brittany Kendall Iddings.
A.L. Brown High School, Kannapolis: Krysta Brianne Jones and Matthew Garrett Starr.
Central Davidson High School: Justin Scott King and Lynley Vail Paden, alternate.
North Davidson High School: Austin James Kennedy and Whitney Nicole Snyder.
West Davidson High School: Kazie Franklin Poole, alternate.
Lexington High School: Thomas Harrison Danze.
Northwest Cabarrus High School: Allison Lauren DuPont and Monica Eve Faircloth.
Albemarle High School: Adam Joseph Talbert.
North Stanly High School: Bradley Wayne Eudy.
Gray Stone Day School: Lauren Nicole Solomon.
Davie County High School: Elizabeth Jane Budd and Sarah Leann Daywalt, both alternates.
Mooresville High School: Chakyra LaShay Cherry, Caleb Dolan Kistler and Kaylin Marie Bugica, alternate.
Math conference
Two members of the Catawba College mathematics department recently attended the 87th annual meeting of the Mathematical Association of America Southeastern Section held at The Citadel in Charleston, S.C.
Dr. Paul Baker made a presentation, “Dumbed Down or Real Math?” Dr. Sharon Sullivan chaired a session on “Connecting Math to the Liberal Arts,” judged undergraduate students’ research posters and presented a talk on writing projects in calculus.
SNA scholarships
Travis Jordan and Jada Thomas have been awarded $250 scholarships by the Rowan-Salisbury School Nutrition Association.
Jordan, a senior at Carson High School, is ranked fifth in his class and is a member of the National Honor Society. He plans to attend the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
Thomas is a part-time employee with the Rowan Salisbury Schools’ Child Nutrition program. She is also a part-time student at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College pursuing a degree in arts and science and major in business administration.
Campbell scholarships
Two local students have been awarded scholarships to attend Campbell University in Buies Creek.
Joshua Bradley Hoehman is the recipient of the Scott-Ellis Transfer Scholarship. A graduate of Rockwell Christian School, he is the son of John and Tammy Hoehman of Granite Quarry.
Anna Victoria Jarrell is the recipient of a Presidential Scholarship. A student at Gray Stone Day School in Misenheimer, she is the daughter of Lee and Eva Burton of Gold Hill.
Faith recognition
Faith Elementary School recently recognized students as March Good Citizens and Good Deed Doers.
Good Citizens are Johna Stewart, Skylar Kiser, Destiny Royce, Chase Dellar, Allie Fullen, Andrea Griffin, Emma Amos, Serena Wale, Jack Gardner, Cameron Harvell, Raven Shue, Austin Melton, Kyah Chapman, Jake Clark, Addi Bost, Norman Kelly, Madison Creswell, Trace Dillon, Geddi Monroe, Tikiya Jenkins, Savannah Sifford, Brandon Speer and Addie Gantt.
Good Deed Doers are Baron Wright, Spencer Chandler, Ben Thomas, Kayleigh Hill, Cameron Settlemeyer, Chloe Morrow, Crystal Kardys, Blane Roberts, Samantha Sebastian, Kaitlyn Query, Robbie Fullen, Kristina Abernethy, Salina Kocher, Nathan Turner, Taylor Teague, Kyrsten Mateer, Sydney Trexler, Megan Herge, Madison Full, David Williams, Allison Stirewalt, Emma Ritchie and Natalie Kluttz.
New RCCC Web Page
Students at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College now have a 24-hour, seven-day-a-week information source to help them stay on track and complete their programs of study.
RCCC’s Academic Advising Center has launched the “EDGE,” a new Web page designed to give students easy and quick access to the information they need to make academic progress. The Web page also gives students tools to manage their class schedule and develop a plan for academic success.
“EDGE” is an acronym, which stands for Engage the student, Develop a plan, Goals and Educational success. Included on the Web page are links to information about academic advising, class registration, schedule of courses, student forms and test preparation services.
It also includes a section called “My Responsibility as a Student” containing tools to help students make and keep appointments with their academic advisers, checklists to complete before adviser meetings and information on how to apply for graduation. Students also can e-mail advisers directly via the EDGE.
Near the top of the Web page is a link to frequently asked questions (FAQs). Next to the FAQs are the “Top 10 Reasons to visit the EDGE.”
To access the page, go to or click on the “Advising Information” link on the RCCC homepage at