Holshouser takes oath as Superior Court judge

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

By Shavonne Potts

Salisbury Post

After taking the oath of office Tuesday morning in a Rowan County courtroom, Superior Court Judge John L. Holshouser ended his day in a Davie County courtroom.

Sworn into office for the first time after winning election in November, Holshouser observed criminal proceedings in Mocksville later in the day.

“I wear my robe with gratitude, with humility and with honor, and I will work hard to be a judge of whom all of North Carolina will be extremely proud,” Holshouser said.

He will take on his duties as judge solo Monday, when his first criminal judicial assignments begin in Iredell County Superior Court in Statesville.

He will preside in Rowan County Superior Court sometime this summer.

Other judges and officials also sworn in Tuesday included Chief District Court Judge Charlie Brown; District Court judges Beth Dixon, Kevin Eddinger and Bill Kluttz; and Rowan District Attorney Bill Kenerly.

Retired Superior Court Judge Larry Ford, whom Holshouser replaces, was sworn in later the same morning as an emergency judge.

The oaths of office were administered by longtime Superior Court Judge Thomas Seay, who is now retired.

Holshouser said it was an honor to be sworn in by “the man who served as my senior resident Superior Court judge for the majority of my career.”

As the newest member of the local judiciary, Holshouser asked court officials, members of the District Attorney’s Office, local attorneys and law enforcement officials to give him their understanding and their patience.

“The ceremony was significant because it ushered in John Holshouser as judge as well as to have Judge Ford and Judge Seay present,” said Brown, chief District Court judge. “To have Judge Seay administer the oath was special for all of us.”

He said now it’s business as usual in the courts. He added that the District Court judges are anxiously awaiting the appointment by Gov. Mike Easley of a fifth district judge who has yet to be named.

Brown also swore in each of the assistant district attorneys later Tuesday morning following the judges ceremony: Jennifer Suneson, Bonnie Busby, Karen Biernacki, Thomas King, Marcus Wilson, Michael Van Buren and Michelle L. Walker.

Van Buren and Wilson are the newest assistant district attorneys to join the office.

Contact Shavonne Potts at 704-797-4253 or spotts@salisburypost.com.