Historic Salisbury Foundation holds annual meeting

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Historic Salisbury Foundation recently held its 36th annual meeting at the historic Salisbury Railroad Station, 215 Depot St.
Salisbury native and internationally known photojournalist Ben Martin was the guest speaker. His presentation included pictures from around the world and several decades of dignitaries.
Martin has assisted the foundation with many projects and continues to be an active professional photographer. He is currently assisting the foundation with the Kesler Mill Village survey.
During the meeting, Carolyn Hurley was awarded the Trustee Emeritus Award. She is one of 7 to receive this award over the 36 years of the foundation.
This award recognizes special individuals who have shown exceptional service to the foundation.
Following the program a short business meeting was held with the current board members and included the election of new trustees Bill Greene, Greg Shields and Barb Sorel.
Edward Clement, Alice Ketcham and Anne Lyles were re-elected for another term.
The new officers for the board of trustees in 2008-2009 were elected: president, Blanche Sherrill; vice president, Nancy Clement; secretary, Joan Rusher; and treasurer, Edward Clement.
Other trustees are Bud Mickle, Karen Alexander, Doug Black, Kathi Hill, Pat McGuire and Jewel Ziprik.
The board recognized retiring members David Bergstone, Ed Brown, Jack Errante and Dr. Carole Jean S. Zvonar.
The mission of Historic Salisbury Foundation is that of preserving and enhancing the special historic character of Salisbury and Rowan County through education, neighborhood revitalization and the preservation of historic landmarks.
Anyone interested in Historic Salisbury Foundation may contact Managing Director Jack Thomson at 704-621-8900 or historicsal@historicsalisbury.org.