Education briefs 3-6-08

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Auto skills winners
Six students in the Automotive Systems Technology program at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College earned high marks in its recent SkillsUSA competition and will advance to state-level competition April 14-16 in Greensboro.
Julian Broome of Gold Hill and Steven Stegall of Salisbury placed first. Andrew Allen of Kannapolis and Shawn Ramdeen of Concord finished second. Zachary Mills of Mooresville and Sam Kennedy of Salisbury placed third.
Each received Nissan scholarships and prizes donated by Gerry Wood Autocentre, Mark Gridley’s Matco Tools, Matco Tools Votech, Snap-On Tools, Thomas Atwell, Carl Smith and James Means of Monroe Muffler-Concord.
SkillsUSA is a partnership of students, teachers and industry professionals working together to ensure America has a skilled work force.
Honor society nods
The Beta Chi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society at Cabarrus College of Health Sciences in Concord inducted new members and recognized others inducted last fall at a recent ceremony on the campus of Carolinas Medical Center-NorthEast.
Induction is by invitation to students enrolled in one of the associate degree programs who have completed 12 semester hours of credit and achieved a minimum grade-point average of 3.25.
Inductees include:
Salisbury: Jonathan Abernethy, Meredith Gobble, Cassie Kizziah, AnnaLacey Loflin,
Kannapolis: Cheryl Brown, Allison Huffman, Olivia Morrison, Kristi Pair, Angela Price, Elizabeth Ritchie, Emily Smith, Charity Upright and Chelsea Young’
Badin: Elisabeth Brown,
Mocksville: Suzanne Bussell,
Rockwell: Amanda Durham, Jamie Hesson,
Spencer: Cindy Godwin,
Gold Hill: Bonnie Hill,
China Grove: Holly Tadlock, Meredith White,
New London: Anne Tenney.
Granite Quarry Stars
Granite Quarry Elementary School recently recognized the following students as February Star Students:
Prekindergarten: Lauren Stitt.
Kindergarten: Paul Teodorovici, Brooke Cornell, Fowrii Jones, Patrick Howard, Samantha Poole, Ghavis Shuford, Dylan Lear and Alyssa Baker.
First grade: Karlie Petrea, Serenity McKnight, Noah Houck, Xylia Cushman, Katelyn Byrd, Brandon Sloop, Marissa Moyer, Lucas Jones, Kaleb Wilbourn and Julia Morales.
Second grade: Kirsten Worthy, Christopher Hicks, Hailey Peeples, Brendan Warren, Payton LeRoy, Seth Lomax, Brandyn Brown, Gunner Spainhour and Savana Blackwell.
Third grade: Brittany Freiman, Devin Mervine, Arianna Botello, Nate Brink, Daniel Carlton, Cierra Lannon, Rayne Rogers and Lucas Morton.
Fourth grade: Rebecca Wallace, Connor Hough, Andrea Audette, Kayla Villezcas and Thalia Delgado.
Fifth grade: Ana Carla Betancourt, Nick Menster, Karlee Eagle, Jack Weisensel, Cynthia Tounzen, Tyler Scruggs, Holly Womack and Shane Houck.
Earle Room named
The Dorothy Pope Earle Conference Room was recently dedicated to longtime Catawba College employee Dorothy Earle during a surprise ceremony.
Earle retired in December 2006 after more than 23 years at Catawba, where she was the assistant to Ralph Ketner, Catawba’s Executive-in-Residence. 
Ketner presided over the official dedication.  Professor Pam Thompson, chair of the Ketner School of Business, told Earle, “We knew that this room would be a more lasting tribute to your years of dedicated service across this campus and to all facets of the campus:  the students, faculty, staff, administrators, trustees and even alumni of this wonderful college.  We thank you for your excellent work, your caring concern for the students, your support of the faculty, administrators and trustees, and your love for Catawba that was exhibited in your efforts every day.”
Koontz good citizens
Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School recently recognized the following students as February Good Citizens:
Kindergarten: Ashlyn Chavis, Quincey Cook, Cameron Hosch, Aundraya Johnson, Talib Kelly, A.J.Mashore, Jennifer Mercado, Serenity Miller, Ja-Kei Smith and Aaliyah Wright.
First grade: Giana Alexander, Yanilett Arteaga, Delmarrae Brown, Monserrat Cruz, Makayla Hartsell, Alazaion Jackson, Ishmael Kaidjuway, Wesley Still, Ian Walworth and Leon Woods.
Second grade: Nelson Allen, Chantel Courtney, Kelis Granford, Tristen Henry, Salie Kimba, Simran Patel and Rashaun Tate, Jurnee Webster.
Third grade: Alton Adams, Naquis Caldwell, Seth Chaffin, John Dunham, Leroy Haskins, Elijah Lawson, Christopher Moore and Jennifer Starr.
Fourth grade: Lizandro Figueroa and Michelle Flores.
Fifth grade: Evan Dunn, Andrea Jimenez, Evelyn Ly, Trey Rutter, Abi Sanchez and Shayla Snowden.
USC dean’s list
Keegan Linza of Salisbury has been named to the fall semester dean’s list at the University of South Carolina College of Arts and Sciences.