Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Leadership meeting

Winne Wang, a seventh-grader at North Rowan Middle School, has been selected to attend the Junior National Young Leadership Conference in Washington, D.C., March 3-8.

The conference is designed to educate, inspire leadership and motivate students by giving them skills that will take them through school and beyond.

Junior National Young Leadership Conference offers mature, high-achieving sixth-and seventh-grade students the opportunity to learn about leadership by studying the leaders of the past and by focusing on social advocacy to make a positive impact on their homes, schools and communities. The goal is for them to gain a better understanding of what it takes to become an effective leader.

Wang has received financial assistance from Spencer’s mayor to help her meet financial goals required to attend the conference.

A straight-A student, she is active in sports, serves as seventh-grade representative on the School Improvement Team and works daily at her family’s business, Spring Garden.

Falcon preview day

MISENHEIMER — The Pfeiffer University Office of Admissions will holds its semiannual Falcon Preview Day beginning at 9:30 a.m. Saturday, Feb. 3.

Falcon Preview Day is an open house that gives high school, prospective and transfer students and families, school counselors and teachers an opportunity to visit the Pfeiffer campus and learn about academic programs and student life.

Participants will get specific information about admission requirements, housing, majors and minors, dining, arts, athletics and more. Visitors also get an opportunity to interact with current students, and all activities include students and parents. Lunch will be provided.

Events will be in the Henry Pfeiffer Chapel and Jane Freeman Hall from 9 a.m. – 1 p.m. Individual campus visits may be scheduled during the week and on certain Saturday mornings by appointment. For more information, call 704-463-1360, extension 2060 or 800-338-2060, option 1.

Pfeiffer University is a comprehensive United Methodist-related university, with multiple campuses including Charlotte and the Triangle. Its Web site is

Catawba dean’s list

The following area students have been named to the fall semester dean’s list at Catawba College. All achieved a 3.5 or higher grade-point average

Albemarle: Michelle Hopkins, Kristy Lowder.

China Grove: Kristin Beaver, Hannah Burleson, Lloyd Crowe, Julie Freeze, Rebecca Helms, Katherine Herge, Jeffrey Kirchbaum, Charles Plyler, Elizabeth Stipe, Nathan Wrights.

Cleveland: Jacquline Coll, Jarrod Heglar, Shelby Ratledge, Kristin Saine.

Gold Hill: Deborah Hopkins.

Granite Quarry: Gerard Smith.

Kannapolis: Mayra Arroyo, Melissa Basinger, Dennis Biggerstaff, Carrie Cox, Ryan Dayvault, Richie Egnor, Selene Hendricks, Dana Hood, David Livengood, Michael Martens, Teresa Turner, David Winstead, Cynthia Young.

Landis: Andrea Mayle.

Lexington: Donna Berrier, Elizabeth Bostian, Jeffrey Bostian, Joseph Goodman, Laura Jollay, Lacy Kennedy, Stacey Ruffner, Randle Swicegood, Kathy Wall, Ryan Younts.

Linwood: Johnnie Bell, Gloria Ferguson, Jacira Garner.

Mocksville: Andrea Branham, Vicki Fortune, Molly Harris, Eugenia Myers, Heather Ross, Jeffrey Tutterow.

Mooresville: Camille Bass, Justin Brady, Noah Johnson, Anita McGowan, Carlin Ours.

Mount Ulla: Jacqueline White.

Richfield: Jessica Clinton.

Rockwell: Karen Allman, Jeremy Cawley, Sara Creel, Leah Farris, Nick Kalogeromitros, Richard Kolbasowski.

Salisbury: Elisa Alfieri, Andrew Ashley, Andrea Ayscue, Katie Bender, Semone Brisson, Sandy Buckwell, Tina Carroll, Charles Cauble, Steven Cauble, Bryon Correll, Nathan Cross, Leslie Denton, Dacia Dryman, Bettina Ferguson, Lauren Flynn, Christina Fortune, Keith Gapen, William Gibbs, Nickalaus Goodman, Catherine Goodnight, Hillary Hampton, Joe Harrell, Stephanie Harris, Suzanna Haynes, Paula Hoffman, Emily Horton, Chie Knott, Sonya Leazer, John Lippard, Elizabeth Morris, Stephen Munga, Zachary Norris, Micah Overcash, Theresa Owens, Jeremiah Peacock, Jennifer Pitel, Laura Porter, Matthew Pressley, Leslie Robertson, Hilda Sigmon, Chris Shupe, David Steelman, William Steinauer, Judy Suddeth, Jennifer Valella, Candice Weathers, Sherry Weaver, Lauren Wicker, Terrence Yarngo.

Spencer: Tammy Bringle, Van Thao.

Woodleaf: Daphne Atwood, Mallory Hodge.

China Grove Cardinals China Grove Elementary School recently recognized the following students as Cardinals with Character for December for showing kindness:

Kindergarten: Araceli Agustin, Savannah Charles, Brayshaun Deese, Deyssy Guerrero, Cierra Hunter, Sarah Maynor, Oscar Morton, Cayla Nodine, Dakota O”Reilly, T. J. Peck, Jayson Smith, Nicholas Smith, Faith Watson, Steven Worley.

First grade: Matthew Blevins, Chloe Corley, Victoria Gibson, Faith Kenyon, Karma Overcash, Royden Phommasak, BreAnna Sartain, Cooper Scott, Matthew Sloop, Hope Smith, Hannah Stevens.

Second grade: Seth Barringer, Steven Bowers, Caitlyn Gerou, Katie Higgins, Sierra Layne, Dillon Norton, Patrick Street, Alex Vanquez, Kayla Wells.

Third grade: Daniel Bullinger, Hunter Cates, Tori Coe, Lindsay Herring, Brooke Keller, Megan Livengood, Marshall Long, Bradley Reid, Kassidy Sindle, Elina Vang.

Fourth grade: Caitlyn Blais, Sylvetta Bost, Kendall Garmon, Meredith Newton, McKenna Pate, Aaron Rousey, Darius Sloan, Dillon Stevens, Sammy Wiggins, Justin Williams

Fifth grade: Darshani Brown, John Daugherty, Robert Dowse, Michael Earnhardt, Briana Hampton, Cameron Johnson, Raegan Morgan, Mayela Nava, Olivia Richard, Miranda Tutterow.

Furman dean’s list

Two Rowan County students have been named to the fall term dean’s list at Furman University in Greenville, S.C., for earning a 3.4 or higher grade-point average.

They are Katharine Doran of Salisbury and Kerianne Springer of China Grove.

Faith recognition

Faith Elementary School recently recognized students for being good citizens and good deed doers in January.

Good citizens are Trexler Cloninger, Emma Grace Amos, Luke Barringer, Ty McCoy, Daniel Walters, Nicole Cook, Cole Sifford, Bree Tucker, Hannah Barringer, Saharrah Thomas, Logan Ridenhour, Graham Reynolds, Madison Creswell, Kayln Ellenburg, Mallory Maycock, Trevor Scully, Natalie Kluttz, Chris Hill, Hayley Morgan, Emma Kluttz, Seth Reynolds, Cody Dale and Jacob Leget.

Good deed doers are Conner Rhinier, Jace Peeler, Michael Bruce, Breanna Ferguson, Alegandra Delgado, Nicholas Overcash, Shaman Goldman, Kyah Chapman, Caleb Barger, Jake Clark, Emane’ Melvin, Angel Hopkins, Roy Hruschak, Camrey Pauley, Trace Dillon, Matthew Brady, Morganne Melton, Chase Lyerly, Jacob Durham, Leah Shores, Tyler Gordon and MyQuon Stout.