Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Rowan County home schoolers group to meet Tuesday

The Rowan County Home School Association will meet at 7 p.m. Tuesday at Northgate Church at the corner of Jake Alexander Boulevard and Industrial Avenue.

Annual testing will be the main topic of discussion. Refreshments will be served after the meeting.

Title I applications

Rowan-Salisbury Schools Title I program is now accepting applications for children to enroll in preschool programs starting in August at Hanford Dole, Hurley, Overton and North Rowan elementary schools.

Transportation will be provided.

To qualify, a child must be 4 years old on or before Oct. 16, indicate an educational need and live in one of the four schools’ attendance areas.

Applications are available in the four schools’ offices weekdays between 8 a.m. and 3 p.m. or at the Title I office, 314 N. Ellis St. weekdays between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. The child’s official state birth certificate must be attached to the completed application.

Applications must be returned to the school or Title I office by Feb. 28. Parents will be contacted by the preschool teacher to arrange screenings.

Parents will be notified of their child’s placement in the program or on the waiting list.

Home School bee

The Rowan County Home School Association will host a spelling bee at 7 p.m. Feb. 1 at Trinity Wesleyan Church.

The event is open to all Rowan County home schoolers in grades 4-8. There is no charge for association members, but there is a $10 fee per family for non-members.

Winners will advance to the annual regional spelling bee in Winston-Salem. Regional winners advance to the national spelling bee in Washington, D.C.

Entries must include name, address, phone number and $10 check, if applicable, made out to RCHSA and can be mailed to RCHSA, P.O. Box 542, Spencer, NC 28159. They must be postmarked by Jan. 16.

For information, call Connie Strickland at 704-855-1100.

ECU honor lists

Seven Rowan County students have been named to the fall semester chancellor’s list at East Carolina University in Greenville for earning 4.0 grade-point averages.

They are Megan Adcock, Cara Barnes, Amanda Culp, Melissa Eller, Angela Hall, Nicole Lankford and Korri-Lee Smith.

Twelve were named to the dean’s list for earning 3.5 or higher grade-point averages.

They are Caroline Cohen, Brittany Helms, Lauren Jordan, Todd Linn, Lindsay Lyerly, Megan Lyerly, Amanda Marcengill, Lacey Medley, Ashley Pierce, Michael Robinson, Jonathan Shaw and Samantha Strube.

Faith recognition

Faith Elementary School recently recognized Good Citizens and Good Deed Doers for December.

Good Citizens are Shelby Maycock, Maria Padgett, Grace Leget, Jackson Fitz, Kursten Von Klahr, Lucas Britt, Cameron Prugh, Kristina Abernethy, Ben Shoaf, Elizabeth Ivanov, Thomas Spangle, Morgan Ingram, Zachery Holshouser, Zarod Tucker, Sydney Trexler, Callie Slife, Ashlyn Vanhoy, Ethan Donoho, Trina Mallimo, Kaylee Walls, Arianna Ivanov, Alyssa Hendrix and Tori Isenhour.

Good Deed Doers are Jayten Snider, Taylor Brown, Nick Klein, Lane Hadley, Meadow Stewart, Robbie Fullen, Samantha Bates, Peyton Lambert, Tanner O’Neal, Kelsey Culp, Caleb Farmer, Tara Mallimo, Charles Logan, Aunika Allen, Chance Brown, Brendon Ford, Taylor McCulloh, Marissa Johnstone, Robert Barnes, Colton Laws, Chance Cauble, Molly Shue and April Abernethy.