ed briefs

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Enochville Wise Owls
Enochville Elementary School recently recognized the following students who have consistently exhibited good citizenship, good manner and exceptional behavior as January Wise Owls:
Kindergarten: Alyssa Alvarnas, Brandon King, Stacey Bailey, Israel Ugarte, Brooklyn Mabe, Devin Nickell, Caroline McDaries and Trevor Shelton.
First grade: Camden Cohick, Austin Jenkins, Hailie Burton, Gage Earnhardt, Alex Todd and Stacey Sutton.
Second grade: Brett White, Caroline Brooks, Laura Kate Wilson, Savannah Ratliff, Ashlyn Campbell and Garrett Harrington.
Third grade: Tehya Deaton, Amairani Vazquez, Anna Keener, Hayley Upright, Kaleb Beaver and Keirsten Morgan.
Fourth grade: Ash Brock, Samantha Deadmon, MacKenzie Cohick, Avery Brawley and Austin Byars.
Fifth grade: Alex Grillo, Holley Wilson, Elizabeth Anderson, Caleb Kimball, Eric Stowe and David Russell.
Dole good citizens
Hanford Dole Elementary School recently recognized students as Good Citizens for December and January.
December honorees are Jeremiah Streater, Ava Stampf, Jordan Goodine, Malik Hailey, Xzaviar Davis, Carmen Christie, Deyvi Montoya, Amelia Small, Brock Henry, Garrett Jennings, Catherine Helm, Mia Graham, Austin Richard, Amanda Dilbeck, Caitlyn Slusser, Weston Phillips, Margarita Pacas, Emmeri Cain, Arianna Martin, James Ellington, Jasmyne Mashore, T.J. Mitchell, Blake Gallimore, Ronnie Rollings, Mercedes Kelly, Alexis Rice, Shenelle Hudson, David Carranza, Ashleigh Julian and Aisa Wilson.
January honorees are Gaokalia Yang, Hunter Nicholas, Kassandra Bello, Michael Hill, Ny’Kira Redman, Jazmin Mollinedo, Haley Blankenship, Aubree Cain, Alex Hunt, Passion Phillips, Raekwon Hailey, Dustin Kellar, Desirea Gallimore, Moya Errante, Lee Sharum, Brianna Settle, Jasmine Ferguson, Javin Goodine, Esmer Villalobos, Kennedie Linsay, Kong Yang, Lisa Oakley, Jeffrey Ruiz, Morgan Teodorovici, Sabrina Hartsell, Cody Rowe, Chase Thompson, Jaleesa Smoot and Jessica Lloyd.
Virginia Tech list
Four area students were named to the fall semester dean’s list at Virginia Tech for earning a 3.4 or higher grade-point average while taking at least 12 credit hours.
They are Mary Baugh of Albemarle, Matthew Werder and Michael Werder of Mooresville and David Shirley of Salisbury.
GTCC academic lists
Nine area students were named to the fall semester president’s list at Guilford Technical Community College for earning 4.0 grade-point averages while taking 12 credit hours.
They are Brian Cooker, Gold Hill; Gary Ferguson, John Greer, Christine Reeder, Rollin Roberts and Matthew Tysinger, Lexington; David Clontz, Linwood; April Boone, Mocksville; and Jason Woods, Salisbury.
Two were named to the dean’s list for earning a 3.5 or higher grade-point average while taking 12 credit hours with no grade below a B. They are Ashley Edwards, Rockwell, and Sophat Theng, Lexington.
Hurley fair winners
Hurley Elementary School recently selected the following winners in its annual science fair:
Third grade: Graham Bowes, first place; Robert Sullivan, second place; Macy Burleyson, third place; Emily Muire and Maryn Miles, honorable mention.
Fourth grade: Jared Gillespie and Ciera Howard, first place; Amelia Steinman and Jordan E. Osborne, second place; Caroline Parrott, third place.
Fifth grade: Jordan Bostian, first place; Cassidy Nooner, Cameron Smith and Veronica Leasure, second place; Katy Wolfe and Devan Piat, third place.
Grand prize winners who will advance to the county fair at Horizons Unlimited are Jordan Bostian, Jared Gillespie, Ciera Howard, Amelia Steinman, Jordan E. Osborne and Graham Bowes.