Education briefs

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, December 1, 2009

APPLE Scholarship
In June, the Salisbury High School PTSA awarded an APPLE Scholarship to Oscar Leby Bonilla.
APPLE stands for Appreciating People who Promote Positive Learning Experiences. The scholarship is $500. Bonilla was a member of the SHS PTSA, submitted an application and was interviewed by the APPLE Scholarship Committee.
He maintained a GPA of 3.5. While a student at SHS and was an active member of the varsity soccer and baseball teams. He was a member of the National Honor Society, DECA, Key Club, yearbook and the Spanish Club. He plans to attend the University of North Carolina at Wilmington to study dentistry.
Retired Personnel scholarship
Bryce A. Corbett, a 2009 graduate of East Rowan High School has received a $1,000 scholarship from the Salisbury-Rowan Retired School Personnel.
He is the son of Mary Beth and Rocky Corbett. He plans to major in education.
WFU graduate
Clayton R. Honeycutt of Gold Hill graduated from Wake Forest University with a bachelor of arts degree in education-social studies May 18.
He has been accepted into the Wake Forest University masters program on a full scholarship. He is the son of Tim and Deana Honeycutt of Gold Hill.
Scranton dean’s list
Kevin R. McKenna of Mooresville and Julie K. Frankenfield of Salisbury have been named to the University of Scranton dean’s list, which recognizes students for academic excellence during the 2009 spring semester.
A student must have a grade point average of 3.5 or better with a minimum number of credit hours to make the dean’s list.
The University of Scranton is a Jesuit university located in northeast Pennsylvania.
Faith honor roll
Faith Elementary School all-A honor roll:
Third grade: Ethan Diaz, Bree Tucker, Zain Tucker, Tanner Hawkins, Paige Eagle, Chase Earnhardt, Cameron Prugh.
Fourth grade: Taylor Teague, Saharrah Thomas, Alyssa Clement, Lexi Kluttz, Cameron Lamotte, Taylor Martin, Keelee Morgan, Tanner O’Neal, Ben Shoaf, Elizabeth Yousey, Zachary Hunt, Harley Amos, Hannah Barringer, J.R. Parham, Elizabeth Edwards, Kyrsten Mateer, Clayton Jones.
Fifth grade: Franklin Bowles, Shelby Lowe, Kelly Short, Kayln Ellenburg, Chance Brown, Sawyer Kimmer, Mallory Maycock, Maddie McDaniel, Camrey Pauley, Sydney Trexler, Addy Cofer, Margaret Young.