12th Congressional District Republicans elect Cabarrus chairperson Saturday

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, December 1, 2009

Staff report
Republicans from the 12th Congressional District re-elected Marlynn Burns of Cabarrus County as chairman during the convention here Saturday.
Republicans met at the Rowan Public Library with Tom Yon, Rowan Republican chairman hosting the event.
Dr. Ada Fisher of Salisbury, a National Committee member, updated the convention with a report.
The membership passed a resolution of support of Constitutional State Sovereignty. The resolution supports N.C. House Bill 849, which supports the state’s right to claim sovereignty under the 10th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution over all powers not otherwise given the federal government. The bill further calls for prohibition or repeal of federal legislation that includes threats of penalties or sanctions for states to force compliance with federal legislation.
In addition to Burns, the delegates elected the following officers: 1st vice chairman, Terry Price, a retired N.C. Highway Patrol captain from Davidson County; second vice chairman, Patricia Armstrong of Mecklenburg County.
Also Dr. Nancy Wells of Guilford County, a volunteer coordinator for the Greensboro Symphony, was re-elected secretary.
Owen Moore, a semi-retired Davidson County resident, was elected treasurer.
The convention also heard from candidates or representatives of candidates seeking the state GOP chairmanship.
The convention elected 14 district Republicans as members at-large to the N.C. Carolina Republican Executive Committee.