Hansbrough, Beasley are unanimous

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, April 1, 2008

By Jim OíConnell
Associated Press
North Carolinaís Tyler Hansbrough and Kansas Stateís Michael Beasley were unanimous selections to The Associated Pressí All-America team Monday. For the first time, no senior was chosen.
Beasley and Kevin Love of UCLA made it two straight years there were two freshmen chosen. Sophomore D.J. Augustin of Texas and junior Chris Douglas-Roberts of Memphis rounded out the selections, shutting out the seniors.
The AP started choosing All-America teams after the 1947-48 season, and for the next six decades there was at least one member of the senior class on every first team.
Until this group.
Hansbrough, a junior and the ACC player of the year, and Beasley, the Big 12 player of the year and third freshman to lead the country in rebounding, were named on all 72 ballots and received 360 points from the same national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25.
iTo be one of just two players in the country to receive such an honor is very humbling,î said Beasley, who led Kansas State to its first NCAA bid since 1996. iI have never been about individual accomplishments, but about helping my team win games. I wish we were still playing, but I am happy with the success we had this season.î
The 6-foot-10 Beasley averaged 26.5 points and 12.4 rebounds for the Wildcats, shooting 53.5 percent from the field including 38.9 percent from 3-point range.