People and Places

Published 12:00 am Friday, August 10, 2007

Toastmasters honors
Two members were honored at the Aug. 4 meeting of the Goldmine Toastmasters Club in Kannapolis.
Bill Batterman was presented an Advanced Communicator Gold award by club president Al Minter. In addition to the advanced awards that he had previously earned, to achieve this award Batterman successfully completed additional advanced manuals, conducted an educational/leadership program and served as mentor to a new club member.
Batterman lives in Salisbury and is pastor of Gloria Dei Lutheran Church. He has been a member of Goldmine Toastmasters since April of 1999 and served as president of the club as well as area governor for Toastmasters last year.
Goldmine also welcomed the return of Brian Woolf into their membership. He was a member from 1981-89 while he worked as CFO for Food Lion in Salisbury. He has won state speech contests in North Carolina, South Carolina, Ohio and Indiana. In 2003, he was one of nine final contestants in the International Speech Contest.
Woolf lives in Greenville, S.C., where he has his own business, Loyalty Marketing.
Goldmine is part of Toastmasters International, an organization promoting communication and leadership skills.
Pilot Club
Laura Keever, past International Pilot president, and Carol Sanders, past N.C. District governor, both from Greensboro, recently installed the 2007-08 Pilot Club of Salisbury officers.
They are: Sarah Byerly, president; Deborah Graham, president-elect; Bette Barber, secretary; Margaret Lyerly, treasurer; Vicki Lippard and Carolyn Henderson, directors.
Shannon Clegg, N.C. district lieutenant governor, read the Pilot Code of Ethics. She is also from Greensboro.
Sanders and Clegg presented a past president pin to Lippard. Barber presented attendance certificates to all members.
Other guests included members of the China Grove/Landis Pilot Club: Sally Corriher, Karen Humphreys, Betty Lockee, Joyce Thomas and Debbie Zimmerman.
Juanita Lesley, Pilot Emeritus of the local club, led the invocation.
Granite Quarry reunion
The Granite Quarry High School class of 1950 held its 57th anniversary reunion Aug. 4 at the Faith Lutheran Church Family Life Center.
Co-President Eunice Silliman Heilig, welcomed the classmates and guests that included former teacher, Jean McCombs of Faith. Co-President Nathlyn Fesperman Fisher presided over the business meeting.
The planning committee included Eunice Heilig, Nathlyn Fisher, Grace Bost Sapp and Frances Beck Peeler.
Grace Sapp gave the invocation, and a meal was enjoyed by all.
A memorial tribute was given by Marian Misenheimer Bernhardt for deceased members of the class.
Entertainment involved questions about school days.
The following classmates enjoyed entertainment, fellowship and door prizes: Paul Webb of Saginaw, Mich., Betty Lou Whirlow Myers of Campbellsville, Ky., Clyde Brown of North Wilkesboro, Bill Julian of High Point and Eunice Sillman Heilig of Winston-Salem.
Locals attending were Marian Misenheimer Bernhardt, Roana Agner Bost, Gaynelle Julia Morgan, Sherry Eagle, Polly Fisher, Jean Trexler Brown, Nathlyn Fesperman Fisher, Nancy Cain Isenhour, Bill Witty, Patricia Bringle Masters, Jean McCombs, Mary Earnhardt Powlas, Joyce Thomas Trexler, Shirley Peeler Rhinehart, Grace Bost Sapp, Margaret Walton Broadway, Eston Boyle, Frances Miller Linebarger, Jean Broadway Holshouser, Lindsay Hess, Bobby Eller, Margaret Smith, Carr Peeler and Frances Beck Peeler.
The planning committee for the next reunion is Jean Brown, Marian Bernhardt, Gaynelle Morgan and Frances Peeler.
Rockwell reunion
The Rockwell High School class of 1942 held their annual reunion Aug.4, 2007, at Ryan’s in Salisbury.
Blanch Brown Drew welcomed the 17 class members and nine guests. J.C. Arey gave the invocation and Carl Euart memorialized deceased class members.
Others attending from the local area were: Mae BogerandCouncil Weddington, Rosa Lee Williamsand Ralph Morgan, Cecil and Mary Fisher, Clay Cozart, Jo Kluttz Eagle, Mary Helen Kluttz Shive, Nevada Ludwick Rabon, Ruth Lyerly, Hubert and Louise Ridenhour, Blanche Trexler Morgan and J. W. Shuping.
Also attending were Mattie Eller Drye of Winston-Salem, Edith Ketner and Bois Crocker of Hickory and Marie Thompson Whitmore of Lexington.
Committee members Blanch Drew, Jo Eagle , Mary Helen Shive and Betty Huneycutt organized the festivities.