• Posted: Thursday, September 4, 2014 1:20 a.m.

• Madie Honeycutt, a student at Morgan Elementary School, was the 2014 third place poster winner for the state bus safety poster contest. An article published on Aug. 28 omitted Honeycutt.

• East Spencer Aldermen Curtis Cowan, John Noble and alderwoman Tammy Corpening voted against the sewer/water rate increase. Alderwomen Phronice Johnson and Deloris High and Mayor Pro Tem Otis Gibson voted to approve the increase. Mayor Barbara Mallett was the tie breaker. An article in Wednesday’s Post omitted the votes.

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.