Rowan Literacy Council holds annual meeting, honors volunteers

  • Posted: Friday, March 7, 2014 6:38 p.m.

The Rowan County Literacy Council recently held its annual meeting and volunteer appreciation banquet at Trinity Oaks Retirement Community. During the business meeting, the president reviewed the achievements of 2013, and the treasurer reported on the councilís financial condition as of Dec. 31, 2013.

Vance Meek, chairman of the Nominating Committee, presented his report, and the following were elected to the board of directors: Clyde Harriss, Nan Lund, Eric Nianouris, Phyllis Martin, president, and Carolyn Myers, secretary.

Cindy DeLorenzo is the 2013 recipient of the Catherine Bernhardt Safrit Award for her volunteer service this past year.

Volunteers were recognized for a total of 3,170 hours given back to the community in actual tutoring, with an additional 2,305 hours donated in other services to the council.

Rowan County Literacy Council is a United Way agency.

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.