Area Sports Briefs

East Rowan won 51-30 against South Rowan in SPC wrestling on Wednesday.

Jeff Burrell, Wesley Porter, Luke Miller, Wyatt Blume, Tyler Lloyd and Jake Boltz recorded pins for the Mustangs.

Kevin Phillips won a decision.

Shiheem Saunders and Austin David Hoosier won by forfeit for East.

South received pins from Logan Durham, Angel Ruiz, Jacob Hall, Tyler Hall and Alex Parham.

Prep hoops

North Rowan’s teams are home tonight against Mooresville.

Both North teams are off to 3-0 starts.

The jayvee games also will be played at North, so the varsity girls will start around 6:30 p.m.

• On Friday, Davie is home against North Davidson for CPC action, and A.L. Brown opens MECKA play at North Meck.

• Salisbury is home against Pinecrest on Friday.

• In the SPC on Friday, the matchups are East Rowan at Hickory Ridge, West Rowan at Carson, Cox Mill at South Rowan, and Central Cabarrus at Concord.

Jayvee hoops

Carson’s jayvee boys won 48-38 against Salisbury.

Bryson Collins scored 11 points, and Brenden Westbrook had nine for the Cougars (3-2).

• South Rowan’s boys won 31-30 against A.L. Brown on Wednesday.

A.L. Brown’s girls won 35-26 against the Raiders.

South Rowan awards

South Rowan announced its fall award winners.

Cross Country

Most Valuable: Kurtis Reed

Coaches Award: Blade Blumenthal

Most Improved: Jakob Rodgers and Colson Childers


Most Valuable (Eudy Award): Alex Parham

Most Improved: Greg Keller

Rick Vanhoy Award (Team Above Self): Dakota Smith

Tommy Barnhardt Award (Special Teams): Bryson Deaton

Larry Deal Offensive Lineman Award: Brock Miller

Offensive Coaches Award: Jonathan Lambert

Defensive Coaches Award: Burke Fulcher

JV Offense Award: Austin Chrismon

JV Defense Award: Luke Frizzell

Girls golf

MVP: Alexandria Bare

Most Improved: Casey Pruitt

Boys soccer

MVP: Dalton Carter

Defensive Player of the Year: Tony Ramirez

Midfield Player of the Year: Luis Fierro

Forward Player of the Year: Angel Dominguez

JV MVP: Cameron Corriher

Girls tennis

MVP: Cierra Hunter

Most Improved: Mariah Mason

Coach’s Award: Aspen Mushala


MVP: Lynsey Corriher

Ultimate Teammate Award: Kayla McClendon

Most Improved: Sylvetta Bost and Dakotah Lambert

JV MVP: Brandy Parker

JV Leadership: Caitlin Chabala


MVP: Ashton Schoen

Most Spirited: Baylie Mann

Most Improved: Cheyenne Hunter

Most Valuable JV: Amber Boulware

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.