Area Sports Briefs

  • Posted: Sunday, March 17, 2013 11:18 p.m.

From wire and staff reports

North Carolina State will meet Temple in the second round of the NCAA men’s basketball tournament on Friday in a matchup of teams with rich histories in March.

The Wolfpack, who won the 1983 national title, ended a season of promise at 24-10 overall, including a fourth-place finish in the Atlantic Coast Conference. The Owls, who have had an up-and-down season in the Atlantic 10, finished 23-9 and will play this game in an arena that’s familiar to them, since the Dayton Flyers are members of the same conference.

• Big East regular season co-champion Marquette is the No. 3 seed in the East region of the NCAA tournament and will face 14th-seeded Davidson in Lexington in the second round on Thursday.

The Golden Eagles (23-8) tied Georgetown and Louisville for the Big East title after finishing 14-4 in one of the nation’s toughest conferences.

Davidson (26-7) is dancing for the second straight season after defending its Southern Conference championship.

All-NPC wrestling

South Rowan’s Logan Durham, East Rowan’s Wyatt Blume, Daniel Muncy and Shiheem Saunders, and Carson’s Alex Lyles and Brandon Sloop made the All-NPC wrestling team.

West Iredell’s Payton Shuford was named NPC Wrestler of the Year.

West Iredell’s Tom Pavia was named NPC Coach of the Year.

South Rowan awards

South Rowan announced award-winners from its winter banquet:

Girls basketball

MVP — Avery Locklear

Most Oustanding Offense — Cassidy Chipman

Most Outstanding Defense — Beth Ann Martin

JV MVP — Katie Figueroa

Boys basketball

MVP — Shawn Spry

Most Improved — Qwan Rhyne

Most Outstanding Defense — T’Vadis Wesley

JV MVP — Alec Stewart


MVPs — Logan Durham and Tyler Hall

Most Valuable Underclassman — Angel Ruiz

Most Improved — Isaac Hengel

Indoor Track

Coaches Award — Megan Telker


MVPs — Lauren Johnson, Morgan Johnson

Most Improved — Baylie Mann

Leadership — Dallus Lambert, Arielle McConneaghey

JV MVP — Augusta Shaver

JV Most Improved — Summer Fitch

Boys swimming

MVP: Luke Rary

Most Improved — Bradley Bettis and Jonnie Lefebvre

Coaches Awards — Stetson Johnson, Dylan Goodman

Team Above Self — Jeremiah Bradshaw

Rookies of the Year — Bonner Buchanan, Dillon Parker

Girls swimming

MVPs — Nicole Mauldin and Leslie Franks

Most Improved — Faith Casswell

Coaches Awards — Taylor Kluttz, Casey Pruitt

Team Above Self — Sydney Kelly

Rookie of the Year — Madyson Campbell

Local golf

The McCanless Couples played a two-man Captain’s Choice format on Sunday.

Winning team members were David Huneycutt and Treva Honeycutt. Coming in second was the team of Walt and Kim Kincaid.

The longestputt was won by Phyllis Myers. Closest to the pin waswon by Walt Kincaid.


Registration for Mighty Kickers spring soccer (ages 3-4), spring soccer (boys and girls, ages 5-14) and flag football (boys and girls, ages 4-14) last through March 23.

Contact Joe Finney at 704-279-1742 or

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.