Education shoutouts

  • Posted: Thursday, January 24, 2013 12:12 a.m.

Georgia Tech deanís list

Nathan Miller of Salisbury made the deanís list for fall 2012 at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Undergraduate students earning a 3.0 or higher academic average for the semester gain the distinction of being named to the deanís list at Georgia Tech.

University of Louisiana deanís list

Caitlin Atkinson of Mocksville has been named to the University of Louisiana at Lafayetteís deanís list for fall 2012.

At the end of each regular semester, the university recognizes those students named to the deanís list. Eligible students must be enrolled full-time and must earn at 3.5 GPA or higher.

William Peace deanís list

Several students were named to the deanís list at William Peace University for the fall semester.

Olivia Worsham and Skylar Noblezada of Mooresville were named to the deanís list at William Peace University for the fall semester.

Elon deanís list

Kaylin Kirby Hunter of Woodleaf has been named to the deanís list for the 2012 fall semester at Elon University.

The deanís list includes students with no grade below a B- and a grade point average of at least 3.5 in a minimum of 12 semester hours.

Wingate deanís list

Wingate University announces Savannah Ware, of Salisbury, was named to the deanís list for demonstrating outstanding academic achievement during the fall 2012 semester. Making the deanís list requires a term GPA of 3.30 on at least 12 quality point academic hours with no grade below a C.

UNCA graduates, honors list

The following students received degrees from University of North Carolina at Asheville in December 2012.

Salisbury ó Katelyn Noelle Patterson, bachelor of arts in art, concentration in teacher licensure, magna cum laude, University Research Scholar, distinction in art.

Gold Hill ó Ashley Renae Hinceman, bachelor of fine arts in art, minor in art history, University Research Scholar, distinction in art.

Kannapolis ó Carson Rai Douglas, bachelor of science in atmospheric sciences, concentration in weather forecasting.

Mocksville ó Mackenzie Grier Wheaton, bachelor of science in management, concentration in business management and administration, minor in psychology

The following students at UNCA were honored for their academic achievements:

Gold Hill ó Ashley Renae Hinceman, chancellorís list.

Kannapolis ó Anna Louise Dupont, chancellorís list.

Mooresville ó Kenton Wayne Bell, Marissa Elizabeth Riley, chancellorís list; Kevin Richard Forte, Clair Nicole Powell, Megan Elizabeth Rabuck, Autumn Lynn Towne, Megan Ann VanVoorhies, Weston Scott Werner, deanís list.

Salisbury ó Lauren Elizabeth Brown, Sarah Holder, deanís list; Katelyn Noelle Patterson, chancellorís list.

Western Carolina grads

Western Carolina University fall 2012 graduates:

Mooresville ó Danielle Faith Barkiewicz, BS education; Chandler Elyse Elliot, BS education; Savannah Nichole Hager, Bachelor of Science, birth-Kindergarten; Brittney Leigh Malone, Bachelor of Social Work, cum laude; Lauren Ashley Moore, Bachelor of Science, hospitality tourism; Samuel Nelson Read, Bachelor of Arts, history; Brandon Charles Rupinski, Master of Science, mathematics; Joshua Robert Story, Bachelor of Science, communication; Ashley Strohmeyer, Master of Public Affairs

Public Affairs
Rockwell ó Nathan Lee Brown, BS education, music, cum laude;

Salisbury ó Julia Ann Hand, Bachelor of Science, health information administration, summa cum laude

WCU deanís list

Mooresville ó Danielle Faith Barkiewicz, Britney Ann Besecker, Mikaela Joanne Bilohlavek, Brett Ryan Bowen.

Sara Ann Brandt, Melanie A Burzlaff, Emma Meaghan Castanho, Carl Cole Drawdy, Chandler Elyse Elliot, Victoria M Giles, Savannah Nichole Hager, Brandt Daniel Hale, Abigail Hillson, TD Wiiliam Yehlu Khang, Brittney Leigh Malone, Dakota James Parker, Daphne Genevieve Pille, Kyle Cyrus Smith, Mary Katherine Snodgrass.

China Grove ó Holly Michele Brigman, Elizabeth J. Sides, Benjamin J. Strickland, Garrett Hunter West,

East Spencer ó Danielle Lanetta Hosch,

Kannapolis ó Devin Lee Davis.
Rockwell ó Nathan Lee Brown, Taylor Anne Campbell.

Salisbury ó Kathryn Jean Egloff, Sarah Elizabeth Hayden, Ashley Mae Murray, Royale M. Nichols, Colton Reid Overcash, Sarah Beth Perrine, Kia Sharaine Rice, Kelsey E. Stover, Casey Lynn Wellmon.

Woodleaf ó Joshua Robert Pond.

Mars Hill honor roll

The following Mars Hill College students were named on the honor roll of the academic dean at the end of the fall 2012 semester. To qualify for the deanís list, students must earn a grade-point average of 3.5 on a minimum of 12 semester hours, and carry no grade below a C: Andrew Michael Hebert, Kannapolis; Danielle Elizabeth Franco, Mooresville.

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.