Education briefs

  • Posted: Thursday, December 20, 2012 12:38 a.m.

Catawba’s teacher education program

In a formal pinning ceremony held in late October, 38 Catawba College students and two faculty members were accepted into the Department of Teacher Education at the college.

The ceremony, held in Hedrick Little Theatre, was sponsored by the Student North Carolina Association of Educators (SNCAE). Laura Ritchie, a 2011 Catawba alumna, shared remarks about her perspective on teaching and a reception followed in the Peeler Crystal Lounge.

Admission to a teacher education program is not automatic. Admission requirements include the successful completion of PRAXIS I standardized tests of reading, writing and mathematics and the establishment of a 2.5 or better grade point average. Applicants must also pass a criminal background check.

Those who were pinned during the ceremony from the traditional day program at Catawba included Rachel Abbatiello, Midland; Allison Andrews, Sherrills Ford; Cameron Beard, Conover; Caroline Bostian, Winston-Salem; Jana Burkhardt, Wake Forest; Tiffany Carter, Salisbury; Daniel Couchenour, Fort Mill, S.C.; Ashley Csirip, Columbus, N.J.; KaShara Davis, Charlotte; Courtney Frick, Rockwell; David Garcia, King; Alyssa Gilmore, Salisbury; Bristol Glass, Concord; Kyle Griewisch, Banner Elk; Kristy Hinson, Salisbury; Aliyah Khan, China Grove; Lindsay King, Kannapolis; Nicholas Luciano, Concord; Anne Mabry, China Grove; Katie Marlowe, Newton; Grover Moore, Burlington; Brittany Murray, Asheboro; Alexandria Parrish, Zebulon; Jacob Regensburger, Fayetteville; Dillon Reid, Mocksville; Emily Richardson, Salem, Va.; Cristin Ritchie, Salisbury; Donna Steele, Charlotte; Jamesha Thomas, Salisbury; Anna Toole, Raleigh; Jill Totten, Salisbury; and Ashley Wietbrock, Salisbury.

Those pinned from the School of Evening and Graduate Studies’ Birth-Kindergarten Program included Sydney Crutchfield, Thomasville; Megan McIntyre, Woodleaf; Andrea Packer, Thomasville; Lori Rierson, Thomasville; Lindsay Tuttle, Lexington; and Aldena Wyatt, Lexington.

Two faculty members were also pinned as members of the Teacher Education faculty. They were Dr. Donna James, birth-kindergarten education coordinator, and Professor Joe Hernandez, associate professor of theatre arts.

Faculty adviser for the SNCAE organization is Amanda Bosch. SNCAE officers for the 2012-2013 academic year include Cristin Ritchie, Salisbury, president; Chelsea Starr , vice president; Ashley Csirip, Columbus, N.J., secretary; Christina Faircloth, Belmont, treasurer; Danielle Garzon, Raleigh, historian; and Jordan Farmer, Walnut Grove, senior class representative.

Catawba Honor Society inducts new members

Catawba College’s Psi Chi International Honor Society in Psychology inducted three new members on Dec. 4. The new members are Benjamin S. Patterson of Rockwell, a psychology major; Jordan M. Greene of Oak Island, a business administration major and psychology minor; and C. Denise Grissom of Stokesdale, an elementary education major and psychology minor.

Notice about comments: is pleased to offer readers the ability to comment on stories. We expect our readers to engage in lively, yet civil discourse. cannot promise that readers will not occasionally find offensive or inaccurate comments posted in the comments area. Responsibility for the statements posted lies with the person submitting the comment, not If you find a comment that is objectionable, please click "report abuse" and we will review it for possible removal. Please be reminded, however, that in accordance with our Terms of Use and federal law, we are under no obligation to remove any third party comments posted on our website. Full terms and conditions can be read here.

Do not post the following:

  • Potentially libelous statements or damaging innuendo.
  • Obscene, explicit, or racist language.
  • Personal attacks, insults or threats.
  • The use of another person's real name to disguise your identity.
  • Comments unrelated to the story.