• 46°

Rowan Partners for Education announces ‘Love Your Teacher’ winners

SALISBURY — The second annual “Love Your Teacher” Celebration Dinner is just around the corner, and with it comes the announcement of 34 local educators chosen for a night of pampering and recognition.

“Love Your Teacher” is the main fundraiser for Rowan Partners for Education, a nonprofit group for which showing love and appreciation to local educators comes naturally. The organization is dedicated to funding innovative teaching practices and new ideas in the Rowan-Salisbury school system, offering biannual mini-grants to educators as well as funding the $1,000 award for the Rowan-Salisbury Teacher of the Year.

The dinner will be held May 7, with honored guests from each area school. Local students nominated one teacher from each school for their successes in the classroom.

According to Rowan Partners board member Susan Steele, many convincing and heartwarming video nominations were received. But only one educator from each school could receive the honor of a free catered meal and recognition.

The following teachers will receive an evening of free dinner and entertainment for themselves and one guest.

North community

From Hanford Dole Elementary School, students Chynue Vang and Jaydon Finch nominated teacher Robin Daye. Jayden Jones nominated North Rowan Elementary teacher Meagan Ziyad, Neveah Wood nominated North Rowan Middle teacher Brittney Pierce. Melany DeLaCruz nominated North Rowan High teacher Benjamin Butchart.

Salisbury community

Student Carrington Smith nominated teacher Lyndsay Tomlinson from Isenberg Elementary. Knollwood Elementary’s Scarlett Henriques Polanco nominated Yvette Shelter. Overton’s Neaveh Edwards nominated Brooke Padgett.

Middle and high school nominations include Carly Cook by student Alaina Robinson at Knox Middle; Robert Mead by Jade Hutchins at Henderson Independent High School; and Scott Bosch by Mary-Catherine Berger at Salisbury High School.

East community

Elementary school winners include Sarah Furr at Granite Quarry, nominated by Alli Corl; Stacy Phillips at Morgan, nominated by Briana Thompson; Traci Thompson at Rockwell, nominated by Arden Miller; and Debora Snider at Shive, nominated by Konnor Karriker and Braiden Coley.

Middle and high school winners are Nicholas Guertin at Erwin Middle, nominated by Makayla Williams; and Jodie Lohmeyer at East Rowan High, nominated by Kailan Oglesby.

West community

At Hurley Elementary, teacher Kelly Hain was nominated by Trey Wilkerson. Mount Ulla teacher Tammy Thompson was nominated by Jade Graham, and student Caleb Jones nominated Amanda Summit at West Rowan Elementary.

At West Rowan middle and high schools, middle school teacher Shelby Rogers was nominated by Ashton Matthews, and students Emma Clarke and Brinley Batts nominated high school teacher Garrett White.

South community

Student “Faith” nominated teacher Courtney Price at China Grove Elementary, Kendall Tilley nominated Enochville Elementary  teacher Karrissian Mickel, Semaj Santigo nominated Landis Elementary teacher Kassandra Rockstad and Lily Stallings nominated Millbridge Elementary teacher April Weaver.

Corriher-Lipe Middle teacher Kathleen Carosa was nominated by Evelin Bermudez, and South Rowan High teacher Melissa Bass by Braxton Stanley.

Southeast community

Elementary school winners include Bostian’s Catherine Goodnight, nominated by Hayes Scott; Faith’s Jessica Nicholson, by Adyson Medley; and Koontz’s Christina Lynch, by Laruen Cherry and Patience Price.

Middle school winners are China Grove Middle School’s Angela Ramey nominated by student Gabriel Watkins and Southeast Middle teacher Ashley File by Ella Doby.

Final high school winners include Rowan County Early College’s Sakinah Riley by Parkston Myers and Carson High School’s Alex Reynolds by Harley Kirk.

Joining the celebration

Tickets remain on sale for those interested in joining educators for an evening of celebration. Chef Santos will provide a catered meal.

Individual tickets are $50, and table sponsorships are $500. The sponsorships include two free tickets.

Anyone who would like to sponsor a table or purchase a ticket should email twalser@rowanchamber.com. Reservations must be made by April 26.




Rowan County administers 700 vaccines, with majority going to local educators


Shoplifting at Walmart presents challenge for Salisbury police


Commissioners will hear details about changes to solar energy policies


After overcoming obstacles, local barber Daniel King earns registered status


39th annual K12 student exhibitions go virtual


Biz Roundup: Chamber of Commerce to host ‘Salute to Agri-Business’ at March Power in Partnership


Local legislators back bills ranging from new restrictions on sex offenders to Holocaust education


After surviving COVID-19 scare, Lois Willard set to celebrate 100th birthday

High School

Carson rolls over South 41-0 as about 600 allowed in to see season opener for both


East Spencer after school program looks toward opening, nonprofit status


Frank Ramsey inducted into the NC Military Veterans Hall of Fame


Livingstone’s Stoutamire inducted into 2021 CIAA Hall of Fame


J&J’s 1-dose shot cleared, giving US 3rd COVID-19 vaccine


13 deaths reported in Rowan, county stresses need to receive second dose


10% of Rowan residents receive first dose; eight COVID-19 deaths reported this week


North Carolina State Highway Patrol commander to retire


UNC School of the Arts may go for online learning due to COVID-19 spread


Greensboro site to administer 3,000 daily vaccine doses starting March 10


Update: $1.9 trillion relief bill passes House, moves on to Senate


Lady Gaga’s dogs recovered safely


Update: FDA follows advisers’ recommendation, OKs single-shot COVID-19 vaccine from J&J


Post wins 18 N.C. Press Association Awards


Cooper vetoes bill that would force K-12 schools to reopen


Lanning named Spencer’s fire chief