Education Shoutouts

Published 12:00 am Thursday, June 14, 2018

Tar Heel Girls State

The Faith Unit 327 American Legion Auxiliary has selected three students to attend the 78th session of Tar Heel Girls State, which runs from June 11 to 17 on the campus of Catawba College

Those selected are: Nancy Gamewell of Jesse Carson High School, Shelby Maycock of Jesse Carson High School and Olivia Wright of East Rowan High School.

North Carolina School of Science and Mathmatics

Deven Kale Jahnke, of Salisbury, has graduated from the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics in Durham.

NCSSM is a residential high school for juniors and seniors that focuses on the intensive study of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.

He attended the Rowan County Early College prior to his acceptance into the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics,  and is the son of Greg and Tina Jahnke of Salisbury.

Deven will be attending UNC Chapel Hill in the fall.

Saint Luke’s Lutheran Church

St Luke’s Lutheran Church has awarded its 2018-2019 scholarships.

Natalie Allison, Anna McBride, Andrew McBride, Thomas Perrell and Michael Stanley are recipients of the 2018 Catherine H. Hoffner Endowment Fund Career Advancement Scholarship grants. Thomas Perrell has been granted the Mr. and Mrs. R. Braxton Adair Scholarship.

Mount Zion United Church of Christ

Mount Zion United Church of Christ recently awarded 23 scholarships totaling $22,000. Honoring its commitment to higher education, the church family celebrated the generous support and gifts of the George and Ada Fleming family, the Frank and Mary Cress family and Talbert and Dorothy Howell family that made the day possible.  Recipients are:

  • The George and Ada Fleming Scholarship: Brett Oakley Amburn, Riley Anne Corriher, Benjamin J. Helms, Tayler Nicole Harwood, Brianna Nicole Haynes, Olivia Katherine O’Kelley, Garrison Kelly Seitz, Angelina Monique Palacios, Addison Lynne Wise, Ambria Nichole-Lynn Barbee, Austin Lane Corriher, Eli Christopher Helms Cassie E. Howard, Cole A. Howard, Trilby Parker Kirk, Evans Scates Leinbach, III; Jonathan Dale Martin, Matthew Roger Martin, Graham Jacob Purcell, Sarah Catherine Safrit and Jesus Kelsey Sanchez.
  • The Frank and Mary Cress Scholarship: Kaitlyn Anne McCombs.
  • The Talbert and Dorothy Howell Scholarship: Mackenzie Ruth Reid.

West Point

Cadet Taylor Layn Rodenhuis, son of Mr. and Mrs. Terrence Rodenhuis of Salisbury, graduated from the U.S. Military Academy on Saturday, May 26.

Rodenhuis graduated from Salisbury High School in 2014. While at West Point, he concentrated his studies in engineering management. He was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army within the Field Artillery branch and will report to Fort Bragg for his first assignment.

UNC Asheville

The following local students have been named to UNC Asheville’s Dean’s List for the spring semester: Isabella Daniels, Jesse Hinson, Victoria Isenhour, Andrew Langford, Jacob Pond and Jonathan Stockwell.

The Dean’s List is made up of full-time students who have achieved between 3.5 and 3.99 grade point average.
Furman University
 Savannah K. Mowery and Olivia B. Smith, both of Salisbury, graduated from Furman University on May 5.
Georgia State Univeristy

Graham Crawford of Kannapolis was named to the Dean’s List at Georgia State University during the spring semester of 2018.

To be eligible for the Dean’s List, degree-seeking students must have earned a GPA of at least 3.5 for a minimum of nine semester hours of academic credit taken at Georgia State during the fall or spring term with no incompletes for the semester. Eligible students must have a minimum GPA of 2.0 for all classes taken at Georgia State.

Coastal Carolina University

The following local students were named to the Coastal Carolina Dean’s List for the Spring semester: Amber Bouknight, Cameron Butler, Steven Kennedy and Alexis Kemp.

Students who make the Dean’s List have achieved a 3.5 GPA or higher during the semester.

Oglethorpe University

Katherine Breeggemann of Kannapolis was named to the Oglethorpe University Dean’s List for the spring semester.

To make the Dean’s List, students must make at least a 3.50 term grade-point average while earning 12 or more semester hours.

Becker College

James Leone III, of Salisbury, graduated from Becker College May 5 with a bachelor of arts degree in interactive media design.