Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG awards scholarships to college-bound students

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 17, 2018

Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG

The Salisbury-Rowan chapter of PFLAG and its scholarships advisory committee have awarded seven $1,000 scholarships for academic year 2017-18.

The winners are:

• The Anne Stanback-Charlotte Kinlock Scholarship, named in honor of Salisbury native Anne Stanback and her wife, Charlotte Kinlock, was awarded to Nathaly V. Diaz Torres. Nathaly is a graduate of Salisbury High School and will attend UNC-Greensboro. She is the daughter of Jorge Diaz and Candy Torres of Salisbury.

• The Linda Ketner Community Service Scholarship, named in honor of Salisbury native Linda Ketner, was awarded to Abigail G Lund. Abigail is a graduate of Salisbury High School and will attend East Carolina University. She is the daughter of Andrew and Susanna Lund of Salisbury.

• The Bob Page-Dale Frederiksen Scholarship, named in honor of Bob Page, founder and CEO of Replacements Ltd., and his husband, Dale Frederiksen, was awarded to Trey S. Germano. Trey is a graduate of West Rowan High School and will attend Catawba College. He is the son Jeff Germano and Tina Steele of Salisbury.

• The Ralph Ketner-Bill Stanback Equality Scholarship, named in honor of the two Salisbury businessmen and philanthropists and awarded to a straight ally, was awarded to Molly A. Bourque. Molly is a graduate of Carson High School and will attend William Peace University. She is the daughter of Peter and Ann Bourque of Salisbury.

• The Salisbury Pride-Scotty Ray Gilbert Scholarship is named in memory of Scotty Ray Gilbert, a past board member of Salisbury Pride. It was awarded to Megan E. Guzman, a graduate of Rowan County Early College who will attend UNC-Chapel Hill. She is the daughter of Wendy Guzman and Patricia Barker of Salisbury.

• The Roger and Linda Hull Scholarship, created to honor the Hull’s gay son and awarded to someone active in their faith community, was awarded to Bethanie L. Stauffer. Bethanie is a graduate of Salisbury High School and will attend Vanderbilt University. She is the daughter of Shawne Stauffer and niece of Kristin Stauffer, both of Salisbury.

• The Russell E. Hellekson Jr. Scholarship, created in memory of the accomplished musician who died in 1988, was awarded to Lila Kongmany. Lila is a graduate of East Rowan High School and will attend UNC-Greensboro. She is the daughter of Mong and Lay Kongmany of Salisbury.

The local PFLAG chapter was founded in 2006. In 2007, the chapter established its scholarship foundation and awarded itss first two scholarships. Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG was the first organization in North Carolina to award scholarships exclusively to LGBT students and their straight allies.

“Uniquely, Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG’s scholarships may be awarded to any public, private or home-schooled high school senior continuing their education at any accredited trade school, community college or traditional four year college or university,” said Donna Odrosky, chapter president.

“Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG is proud to support these articulate, accomplished scholars with great promise for future contribution to our society, in general, and to the cause of rights and recognition for gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people in particular,” said Mike Clawson, chairman of the scholarships committee. “Our sincere thanks go to all of our many benefactors and donors who consider this an important cause and whose generosity makes these scholarships possible.

“Because of the wonderful response to the program and with the continued success of our scholarship fundraisers, Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG has awarded 54 $1,000 scholarships over the last 11 years,” Clawson said. “That’s an accomplishment to be proud of.”

In addition, the committee named the winner of the 2018 Bob Johnsen Faculty Advocacy Award. This award, selected by scholarship applicants, recognizes a faculty member that provides support and safe zones for gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and straight-ally students.

The recipient is Debra Hubbard-Pastore of Salisbury High School, a teacher and facilitator for the Salisbury High School Gay-Straight Alliance.

This year’s scholarship recipients, as well as the faculty award recipient, will be recognized on stage at the eighth annual Salisbury Pride celebration in downtown Salisbury on June 23.

PFLAG is the nation’s foremost family-based organization committed to the civil and social rights of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people. Founded in 1973 by mothers and fathers, PFLAG has 300,000 members in nearly 350 chapters throughout the United States, including 20 chapters in North Carolina.

For more information on Salisbury-Rowan PFLAG and the chapter’s scholarship program, call or email Donna Odrosky at 704-640-2621 or