• 48°

15 to be inducted into Livingstone College’s Hall of Fame

Livingstone College

SALISBURY – Livingstone College will host its annual UNCF “Share Your Love” Hall of Fame banquet at 7 tonight at its School of Hospitality Management and Culinary Arts on Jake Alexander Boulevard.

The black-tie banquet is a celebration of Livingstone College leaders and will welcome 15 recipients into the hall of fame.

“Those being recognized are what you would call servant leaders,” said Livingstone President Jimmy R. Jenkins Sr. “We are recognizing their undying commitment and dedication to others in their respective roles.”

The honors go to those who demonstrate the characteristics of stewardship, empathy and commitment to personal growth toward others, said Deborah Johnson, Livingstone’s UNCF director.

“Although this prestigious award is given to honor individuals for their love of mankind, it is also a major fundraiser for our UNCF campaign at Livingstone College,” she said.

Each recipient is asked to invest in the educational pursuits of a college student and make the dream of a college degree become a reality through an annual gift to UNCF.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Dr. Derrick R. Anderson and the Rev. Margaret Anderson
  • Dr. Haven O. Anderson
  • Mary Bonaparte
  • Ellison L. Bowman
  • Annie Craig
  • Leondras “LeLe” P. Davis
  • Leon Gatewood, Class of 1980
  • Patricia McCoy
  • Dr. Carol Rose Page, Class of 1979
  • I. Melvin Peay
  • Dr. Sheldon Shipman, Class of 1980
  • Earle Lyons Smith, Class of 1970
  • Sylvia I. Taylor, Class of 1976
  • Dr. Dwayne A. Walker, Class of 1984

The first UNCF Hall of Fame was held on Feb. 7, 2002, with 10 recipients, all of whom were Livingstone College graduates. Since then, 123 leaders have been inducted.

“These recipients will join the ranks of their fellow inductees and help carry the torch of commitment in ensuring that no mind is wasted,” Jenkins said.

For more information, call Deborah Johnson at 704-216-6118 or email djohnson@livingstone.edu



County updates health director job description, will advertise for position

High School

High school tennis: East beats Carson, still hopes to share NPC title


Board of Elections to purchase upgraded voting equipment using federal grant


Kyle Seager drives in winning run in first game as Mariners split doubleheader with Orioles


City exhausts this year’s funds for Innes Street Improvements, Municipal Services District grant programs


Landis adopts amendments to Zoning Ordinance related to signs, Planning Board terms


Cop, police chief resign 2 days after Black motorist’s death


Expert says cop was justified in pinning down George Floyd


Blotter: April 13


County switches vaccines for Livingstone clinic after federal, state guidance


US recommends ‘pause’ for J&J vaccine over clot reports


Superintendent talks first 100 days, dives into district data


‘It was an answer to a call:’ TenderHearted Home Care celebrates 10 years of providing care at home


Political Notebook: Local polls find increasing number of North Carolinians want COVID-19 vaccine


Trial begins on challenge to latest NC voter ID law


Burch, Fisher, Marsh honored as 2021 recipients of Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Humanitarian Award


Landis board talks revenues, budget planning, department updates


College baseball: Catawba rolls 7-1 and 24-1


Student fires at officers at Tennessee school, is killed


Police: Minnesota officer meant to draw Taser, not handgun


Man receives consecutive prison sentences for sex offenses


RSS Board of Education approves Faith Elementary sale


Rowan Health Department receives 400 Pfizer, 800 Johnson & Johnson vaccines for week


Blotter: Accident in Food Lion only weekend shooting to produce injuries