• 70°

Education shoutouts

Hanford Dole Elementary School
The following students were named Good Citizens for the month of September:
Pre-kindergarten: Dania Napole Gonzalez.
Kindergarten: Zymir Walker, Elizabeth McCubbin, Madylan Dearth and Kadence Cooper.
First grade: Olivia Miller, Ahsiah Blackwell, Payton Cheatham and Aaliyah Preston.
Second grade: Joshua Blakeney, Jaret Ayala Perez, Payton Honaker and Nathan Locklear.
Third grade: Breslin Broom, Serenity McCoy, Kanya Cowan, Andrew Waldrop and Veronica Herrick.
Fourth grade: Dante Brown, Izzy Stepp, Alyssa Wood, Mallory Eagle and Durant Childers.
Fifth grade: Derrick Ventura, Leonardo Casas-Perez, Lindsey Ameca Cuevas and Kaitlin Overcash.
Bostian Elementary School
The following students were named Good Citizens for the month of September:

Kindergarten: Cylas Clawson, Isabella Hancock, Audrey Rogers, Logan Rabon, Whitney Jones and River Baber.

First grade: Paxton Sarvis, Audrey Faggart, Maddox Honeycutt, Ashley Flowe, Russell Bearce and Jace Parks.

Second grade: Addison Page, Carson Pethel, Reagan Bradshaw, Trey Hoggard, Landon Stirewalt and Rose Wensil.

Third grade: Olivia Chandler, Ayden Davis, Amelia Miller, Kristopher Sherer, Deacon Thomas and Peyton Bell.

Fourth grade: Aubrey McLemore, Brant Graham, Hailey Moose and Eli Jenkins.

Fifth grade: Laila Furr, Marshall Waters, Lexie Ritchie, Andrew Rabon, Elizabeth Strohecker, Clayton Goodman and Race Johnson.

Overton Elementary School

The following individuals were recognized at Overton Elementary School in the month of October as First Class Scholars for demonstrating the character trait of Purposeful:

Kindergarten: Margot May Pryor, Serenity Bryant and Donovan Henry.

First grade: Jayden Hunter, Gwen Hill and Mia Conforti.

Second grade: Claryssa Riley, Will Rogers, Jhmerica Brown and Aiden Peek.

Third grade: Josephina Huynh, Anberlyn Riley, Delilah Lemanna and Nicholas Eppehimer.

Fourth grade: Clear Wesley, Brooklynne Witherspoon, Sofia Martinez and Victoria King.

Fifth grade: Macari House, Clarissa Reynolds and Darris “DJ” Carter.

Psychology honor society at Catawba inducts new members

Psi Chi, the honor society in psychology at Catawba College, inducted four new members at its fall ceremony on Oct. 12. Tyus Lopez of Charlotte, Savannah Hughes of Mocksville, Abigail Stowe of Mocksville and Rochelle Waldroop of Kannapolis were installed as members under the guidance of adviser Amy Holmes, assistant professor of psychology. Several current members, as well as Catawba faculty members Jennifer Klebaur, visiting assistant professor of psychology, and Darin Spencer, assistant professor of accounting, were on hand to for the induction dinner at Morgan Ridge Brewery and Railwalk in Salisbury.



College baseball: Top-seeded Arkansas routs NC State 21-2


Teacher accused of assaulting at-risk teen at New London military-style school


NC court: Students can use constitution to fight bullying


Vaccine surplus grows as expiration dates loom


Justice Department will review restrictive voting laws in Republican-controlled states


Wake Forest adding Ole Miss graduate transfer Khadim Sy to basketball squad


Gov. Roy Cooper appoints new Rowan County Superior Court judge


Sheriff’s Office: Gold Hill woman likely killed during break-in


Fatal car crash turns into homicide investigation


62-year-old man killed in Wednesday murder


Solar farm plans in Gold Hill met by resident concerns

High School

High school tennis: Salisbury’s Campion/Wymbs, Carson’s Perry/Conrad claim doubles titles


Quotes of the week


Local lawmakers weigh in on state budget process, potential for Medicaid expansion


Salisbury-Rowan NAACP President Gemale Black discusses meeting with Department of Justice, calls for action


School staff members to receive payments from unprecedented RSS bonus package June 23


Senators eye $579 billion in new infrastructure spending as part of $1 trillion plan


Veto likely for state bill on abortion limits


Wealthiest nations expected to pledge 1B vaccine doses for world

High School

High school baseball: Raiders win first conference tourney in 18 years


North Carolina Senate gives final OK to $2B tax-cut plan


Gov. Cooper visits Knox Middle School teacher, gives TikTok a try


Salisbury Police officer dies after contracting COVID-19


NC to give out $1 million each to 4 vaccinated residents