• 70°

Education shoutouts

Faith Elementary School

The following students were named Good Citizens and Good Deed Doers for August and September.

Good Citizens: Carley Blackwelder, Maci Williams, Rose Vickers, Aidan Harrison, Caden Hawkins, Landon Coffey, Karsyn Scully, Bianca Flores, Evin Nguyen, Dawson Byars, Deuce Lane, Christopher Booth, Luis Garcia Aldaco, Ayden Blevins, Joshua Yates, Jilissa Bell, Olivia Farmer, Maddie Broome and Destiny Melton.

Good Deed Doers: Bentley Trexler, Brentley Moby, Luke Lopez, Kennedi Barnhardt, Madalynne Ashby, Ethan Duncan, Skyla Martin, Harley White, Aaryona Abbitt, Kayleigh Hurlocker, Harley Moro, Savannah Goodman, Juana Cruz, Maxx Rogers, Lylla Deal, Daniel Hensley, Gryffin Bowman, Lara Parker and Landon Graham.

North Rowan Elementary School

The following students were named Good Citizens for September:

Kindergarten: Jeremiah Alexander, Aaliyah Brown, Lea Castillo, Kassidy Cook, Kevin Fuentes, Daija Horne, John Majetich, Eddie Medina, PaigeLyn Miller, Delilah Perez, Kennedy Stewart, Kristofer Troutman and Sarah VanVorst.

First grade: Logan Cantu, Da’Vion Davidson, David Finsel, Jordan Grant, Macy Jones, Trinity Malone, Dylan McCarty, Alexis Newby, Axel Huète Ortiz, Cheng Vang and Andria Walker.

Second grade: Jasmine Albarran, Dawan Carter, Elena Cruz Vega, A’Sharia Fowler, Sean Funderburk, Jordan Graham, Arianna Hosch, Ashley Jimenez, Daniel Pirhala, Giselle Perez, Aryam Shamman and Gage Truman.

Third grade: Allison Albarran- Gutierrez, Bryce Botts, Drew Boyle, Brooke Connor, Ja’Mir Coward, Rylan Furr, Kamani Hasan, Haley McCoy, Valery Montes Medrano and Kennedi Sturdivant.

Fourth grade: Tristen Brown, Gavin Elliott, Cassady Garcia Hernandez, Brooklynne Holshouser, Isabella Justice, Olivia Neely, Jalexa Ortiz-Velasquez, Elizabeth Perdomo, Justin Reliford and Cristian Valois.

Fifth grade: Dasia Elder, Kimora Geter, Estefany Nunez-Euceda, Landon Overcash, Aniya Ross, Bruce Vargas and Z’myia Vinson.

Teacher of the year receives scholarship award

Millbridge Elementary School teacher Abby Covington recently received the Phillip J. Kirk Jr. Honored Educator Scholarship award.

Kirk made the presentation to Covington, the district’s current Teacher of the Year. The Kirk Scholarship covers the costs of a five-day seminar at the N.C. Center for the Advancement of Teaching.

Kirk is a native of Salisbury and a graduate of Catawba College. He began his career as a teacher at Salisbury High and Knox Middle schools before moving into the world of politics serving under two governors. Kirk served for more than six years as chairman of the State Board of Education. Kirk currently is director of business and leadership development for Brady Energy Services.

This marks the ninth consecutive year that Kirk has provided the scholarship to a Rowan-Salisbury teacher.

Local teachers attend NCCAT

Several area educators recently attended programs held at the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching, a recognized national leader in professional development programming for the state’s teachers.

Participating educators from Rowan-Salisbury Schools included Kathleen E. Powell of China Grove Elementary School, Dellarene S. Myers of Elizabeth Duncan Koontz Elementary School, Anthony P. Johnson Jr. of H.D. Isenberg Elementary School, Jessica Mosher of Hurley Elementary School, Ashley M. Hornbeak, Amanda M. Ward and Lori J. Webster of Millbridge Elementary School, and Charvonna A. Stackhouse of Woodleaf Elementary School.

NCCAT provides teachers with knowledge, skills, teaching methods, best practices and information to take back to their classrooms. NCCAT conducts a variety of professional development for pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers.

For more information, visit www.nccat.org or call 828-293-5202.

Catawba students inducted into Alpha Chi National Honor Society

Twenty Catawba College students were inducted into the Alpha Chi National Honor Society during an induction ceremony on Sept. 22. The induction was part of family weekend at the college.

Three seniors and 17 juniors were among those inducted into the North Carolina Omicron Chapter of Alpha Chi.

The seniors are Russell Brown of Troy, Austin Humphries of Advance and Ashley Wagoner of Roaring River.

Junior inductees included Alexis Abillar of East Bend; Hannah Agner of Salisbury; Cody Bennett of Asheboro; Dustin Chapman of Whiteville; Kyrbee Cheek of Burlington; Marcia-Mariel Erhart of Rodgau, Germany; Matthew Hefner of Salisbury; Emily Hoffler of Palmyra, Pennsylvania; Luke Humble of Salisbury; Caroline Kirk of Matthews; Veronica Leasure of Salisbury; Tyler McHargue of Statesville; Luca Picci of Harare, Zimbabwe; Jonathan Rife of Apex; Devan Shell of Ferguson; Randy Stull of Frederick, Maryland; and Katherine Zobel of Chapin, South Carolina.

Bob Jones University

Nehemiah Worley of Salisbury has been named to Bob Jones University’s University Singers, the school’s largest choral organization. Worley is a freshman majoring in physics.




Gov. Cooper announces end to curfew, changes to restrictions affecting bars, high school sports


Blotter: Two charged after call about package


Salisbury Police investigating two shootings


Chase involving Kernersville man ends in woods behind Carson High School

News Main

North Rowan girls end season with playoff loss to Murphy


Rowan-Salisbury EC department plunges in place after raising $1,300 for Special Olympics


Tiger Woods injured in car crash, has surgery on legs


Local stakeholders set goals, direction to tackle city’s housing issues


RSS board talks future of Henderson Independent School


One new COVID-19 death, 23 new positives reported Tuesday


Concord to create fallen officer memorial featuring Rowan native Shuping


20-year-old man faces rape charges


Blotter: Man charged after shooting gun during argument


UPDATE: Missing Salisbury man found


RSS board votes to use upset bid process on Faith property


Committee to soon accept artist applications for ‘Paint the Pavement’ project


RSS board votes to send elementary students to in-person classes four days per week


County to administer nearly 1,700 vaccines this week


Political Notebook: Rep. Howard named ‘hospitality champion’ by North Carolina Restaurant and Lodging Association


Blotter: Gunshot fired into home on North Oakhurst Drive


Teenager reported missing in Salisbury


‘Everybody needs an Aunt Libby:’ Family celebrates 100th birthday of Rockwell doctor Elizabeth Lombard

Ask Us

Ask Us: Why is Rowan EMS no longer transporting some patients outside of county?


Blotter: Feb. 21