• 66°

Education shoutouts

Hurley Elementary School

The following students made the All-A honor roll for the fourth quarter at Hurley Elementary School:

Third grade: Shunnashy Azcatl Beltran, Cadeyn Bender, Cesar Botello Cornejo, Daniel Garrido Juarez, Erin Hamilton, Shakeyla Hancock, Vamara Jabateh, James Jones, Kevin Landaverde Aldana, Megan Lentz, Mitchell Merck, Miles Parks, Ariana Ramirez Cortes, Darrell Ratliff, Daniela Salazar Sola, Miranda Valencia and Bryant Wicks.

Fourth grade: Mya Agnant, Jonathan Camacho Hernandez, Lily Carrillo Cuevas, Darris Carter, Jeremiah Davidson, Hiran Escobar Espinoza, Immanuel Hinds, Meredith Martin, Cole Price, Isabella Sharpless, Ezra Shelton and Vanessa Turner.

Fifth grade: Elijah Finley.

Furman University

Emily Gale of Kannapolis and Donald Bergsma of Salisbury graduated from Furman University on May 6.

Georgia Institute of Technology

William Overcash of Salisbury earned the distinction of faculty honors for spring 2017 at Georgia Institute of Technology. The designation is awarded to undergraduate students who have a 4.0 academic average for the semester.

University of Alabama

Robert Bergstone and Stefan Knorr, both of Salisbury, were named to the University of Alabama President’s List for the spring 2017 semester. Students named to the President’s List must have a 4.0 GPA or higher.

Wheaton College

Jared Smith of Rockwell was named to the Wheaton College Dean’s List for the spring 2017 semester. Dean’s List honors are earned by undergraduate students who carry 12 or more credit hours and achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher on the 4.0 scale.

Roanoke College

Anna Chamberlain of Salisbury has been named to the Dean’s List at Roanoke College for the spring 2017 semester. To be placed on the Dean’s List of Distinguished Students, a student must have achieved a minimum 3.5 semester and cumulative grade point average on a 4.0 scale.

Scholarship awarded

Mikayla Mather of Salisbury was awarded a $1,000 scholarship from Ronald McDonald House Charities of North Carolina for outstanding academic achievement and community involvement. Mather is among a number of students from across the state who received college scholarships from the organization. A total of 19 students were awarded scholarships in the greater Charlotte area.

“Each year, I am impressed by the applicants who have demonstrated outstanding character as well as a strong commitment to furthering their education,” said Ronald McDonald House board President Fred Huebner. “It is an honor to award these deserving students these scholarships and to help them in pursuing their life goals.”

The 19 scholarship recipients were chosen based on their leadership skills, academic success, community involvement, financial need and a personal essay describing how they intend to make a difference in society.

Western Carolina University

The following local students were named to the Chancellor’s List for the spring 2017 semester at Western Carolina University. To qualify for the Chancellor’s List, students must achieve at least a 3.8 GPA out of a possible 4.0 on a regular semester’s work of not less than 12 hours, excluding remedial courses, with no grade of D or F.

Justin E. Allen of Salisbury; Katherine E. Barringer of Rockwell; Talitha C. Bowers of Salisbury; Lara A. Drew of Gold Hill; Jade R. Estes of Rockwell; Andrew B. Goodman of Salisbury; Casey N. Gullett of Rockwell; Brittney K. Hogan of Salisbury; Roger L. Hosey of China Grove; Marian L. Hough of Salisbury; Linzi N. Johnson of Kannapolis; Kylie V. Kluttz of Salisbury; Brittany N. Livengood of Salisbury; Sarah E. Loney of Salisbury; Brooke A. Myall of China Grove; Adam M. Ratledge of Cleveland; Taylor M. Starnes of Salisbury; and Lillie A. Zentmeyer of Kannapolis.

The following local students were named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2017 semester at Western Carolina University. To qualify for the Dean’s List, students must achieve at least a 3.5 GPA out of a possible 4.0 on a regular semester’s work of not less than 12 hours, excluding remedial courses, with no grade of D or F.

Holly A. Barnes of China Grove; Ashley N. Bostian of Rockwell; Matthew Y. Choi of Salisbury; Ethan L. Collins of Salisbury; Alexander W. Gilmore of China Grove; Hali Rowland of Salisbury; Madison F.Rusher of Salisbury; Sarah C. Safrit of China Grove; Emmaline A.Sellers of Kannapolis; and  Steven P. Zollars of Landis.

The following local students graduated from Western Carolina University: Jacob A. Stubbs of China Grove; Adam M. Ratledge of Cleveland; Jessica Lauren Lindsay of Kannapolis; Meredith Nicole Oakley of Mooresville; Ashley Nicole Bostian of Rockwell; Kaitlin Rose Crouch of Rockwell; Casey Nicole Gullett of Rockwell; Talitha Caroline Bowers of Salisbury; Jeremy Brett Carter of Salisbury; Matthew Young Choi of Salisbury; Laude Andrew Blake Goodman of Salisbury; Marian Lee Hough of Salisbury; Noelle Elyssa Loebe of Salisbury; Hunter  McClintock of Salisbury; Amanda Gail Possidente of Salisbury; Madison Farrow Rusher of Salisbury; Savanna Nacole Starnes of Salisbury; Sarah Elizabeth West of Salisbury; and Amy Marie White of Spencer.



Afternoon, evening COVID-19 vaccination clinic planned Thursday


Concord man charged with woman’s murder in drive-by shooting

Ask Us

Ask Us: Have city, county elected officials received COVID-19 vaccine?


City gives away nearly 100 trees during ‘We Dig Salisbury’ event


Political Notebook: Bitzer expects most ‘Trump-like’ candidate to be favorite in state’s Senate race


Blotter: Concord man arrested in Rowan for indecent liberties with children


Half of US adults have received at least one COVID-19 shot


Police: FedEx shooter legally bought guns used in shooting


Hester Ford, oldest living American, dies at 115 … or 116?


Size of pipeline spill again underestimated in North Carolina


Kannapolis Police searching for suspect who fled scene of homicide


RSS superintendent talks district’s future, strategic plan survey


Complaints and fines pile up against unpermitted landfill in southwest Rowan County


Catawba baseball: Crowd comes out to say goodbye to Newman Park


History is a great teacher: Farming has helped shape Rowan County


‘A safe place for them’: Timeless Wigs and Marvelous Things celebrates fifth anniversary

China Grove

County will hear request for more tree houses, hobbit-style homes in China Grove


Livingstone College partners with Health Department to administer 500 Pfizer vaccinations


‘Elite and it shows’: Staff at Partners in Learning at Novant celebrate news of national accreditation


Biz Roundup: Food Lion earns Energy Star award for 20th consecutive year


Ester Marsh: What body type are you?


The queen says goodbye to Philip, continues her reign alone


Worldwide COVID-19 death toll tops a staggering 3 million


US, China agree to cooperate on climate crisis with urgency